RSS

First Day of School

08 Sep

IMG_1904 It was Little Guy’s 1st day of kindergarten yesterday. He has gone to pre-school before, 2 mornings a week, but this was the first time he’ll be going to a full-day school. My baby will be gone for the whole day! Here he is with his “McQueen backpack” stepping out of the door. My baby is growing up, my baby is becoming a big boy. My baby is just 4!

We dropped him off without any fuss. A teacher was there to ask if he was going home by the school bus. Negative, I’m picking him up. We waved till he turned to go inside.

The house was quiet after everyone was gone. I popped over to a friend’s house to have coffee to chase the blues away. Then we did what we needed to do, we went shopping. She needed socks for her sons and I needed indoor shoes for mine. Yup, that’s a perk of being a stay-at-home-mum, we get to shop on a workday morning when the store’s not busy.

The afternoon came and it was time to pick Little Guy up. I arrived early after picking up Big Kid earlier and they were already dismissing the children at the yard. I introduced myself to Little Guy’s teacher and she was surprised to see me. “They told me he was taking the bus home,” she said. What? No! I said there was a mistake and she told me to look for him at the back of the school and the buses have not left yet. “He seems to think he was taking the bus,” she said.

We raced around the back and were met by rows of students lined up in the process of being taken to their buses. A teacher helped me to locate Little Guy’s row by flipping through her papers looking for his name. Big Kid was in the field trying to spot Little Guy. Just as she found the number we looked up to see Little Guy and Big Kid standing together. Phew! I told Little Guy I’ve come to bring him home but he protested, “I’m going home on the bus.” Next time, baby. Now Mummy’s going to bring you home, after I speak to the Principal.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2010 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “First Day of School

  1. joyce

    September 8, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Ain’t it fast how kids grow up right before our eyes? One minute they are so dependent and the next, they won’t need us around anymore…being a SAHM helps us cherish every moment, no?

     
    • Ker-Yng

      September 9, 2010 at 8:03 am

      Yes, definitely. :)

       
  2. yanny

    September 12, 2010 at 6:08 am

    You know how he loves to ride on a bus. He might have told the teacher he was taking a bus when asked. You have to make sure his teacher knows his mummy is coming to fetch him. Maybe someday you will let him try the bus. He will be excited. But then again we may not ‘fong sam’. He’s only a baby!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

