RSS

Casa Victoria Mooncakes

16 Sep

The Mid-Autumn Festival is approaching. Each year I’m reminded of the festival when I see mooncakes being sold. While I don’t celebrate the festival I do enjoy the mooncakes which is the traditional food of this festival. Last year I shared mooncake purchases with friends so that we can try out different ‘brands’ and find out which one’s the best. This year’s no different because we forgot which one is the one we liked best last year! So far this year I have tried a Hong Kong brand (not a top brand) and two local bakeries’ mooncakes. Today I bought a box from Casa Victoria, an established Chinese restaurant in Markham, and boy, was I impressed with the packaging! It didn’t come in a standard metal tin like all the others. I’ll tell the pictures speak for themselves.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2010 in Food

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Casa Victoria Mooncakes

  1. yanny

    September 17, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Mooncakes don’t come in tins anymore. Malaysia also has very fanciful packaging. Countless varieties too.

     
  2. babe_kl

    September 18, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Yanny is right there. Wait till you see the beautiful packaging from the various bakeries and I’m not talking about hotels! Too bad I didn’t buy any, otherwise I would take some shots and post them up.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      September 18, 2010 at 9:52 am

      I believe both of you. The last time I saw mooncakes in KL was a couple of years ago and even then there were many fanciful packaging. Oh, feeling so deprived right now! ;-)

       
  3. food-4tots

    September 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Congrats on your new blog! You will find many fancy packaging and varieties in Singapore too. My hubby just received a box of mooncakes in a jewellery box. Maybe I will post it up in my Facebook later. ;)

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

