RSS

Mooncake (Mid-Autumn) Festival

21 Sep

We had a little ‘mooncake festival party’ on Saturday to celebrate the Mid-Autumn Festival or Mooncake Festival, as how it’s called in Malaysia. This year the festival falls on September 22nd. It’s traditionally a harvest festival and celebrated when the moon is at its fullest and roundest. For us it was just another excuse to have our friends over for some food and fellowship. I also bought lanterns for the kids to play with. Playing with colorful candles and walking around with a bright and lighted lantern was what I did when I was a kid and I wanted my kids to have that tradition too. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find those colorful candles here but the kids did walk around the block with their lanterns.

Here are the traditional lanterns I played with when I was young. They burn up really easily though! This picture was taken in Malaysia.

These are the modern lanterns I got my boys. Battery-powered – no more fiddling with candles.

After the walk we came back to the house for mooncakes and red bean soup. :)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Mooncake (Mid-Autumn) Festival

  1. yanny

    September 22, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Good to keep the tradition alive especially when you are in a foreign land. This year we are so blessed with six boxes of mooncakes. There’s one from Sabah which comes with a tin of teak goon yam cha wong and beautiful packaging. I had to share the cakes with neighbours.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

