RSS

Around My French Table/French Fridays with Dorie

27 Sep

IMG_2492 (400x600)My newest cookbook arrived – Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan – and I couldn’t be more excited. There are two reasons for my excitement. First, it’s my première French cookbook and second, I’ve joined an online cooking group to cook through this book! The group is called French Fridays with Dorie (FFwD) and it’s created by the same person behind the group that baked through Dorie’s baking book. This time around Dorie endorses the group right from Day One so it’s more special. Anyway, back to the book, it’s supposed to be homely, unfussy French cooking. Food that Dorie would cook for herself when she’s in Paris. She writes in the book’s introduction that “this is elbows-on-the-table food, dishes you don’t need a Grand Diplôme from Le Cordon Bleu to make.” PHEW!

More on FFwD, each week a recipe will be selected and the group members will cook that recipe and post it up (on their own blog or Facebook or on the FFwD website) on the Friday of that week. I’m excited and at the same time nervous. French cooking is new to me and so it will be a challenge. The good part is, there’s no pressure but I would strive to cook each week’s recipe unless I have a good reason not to, a reason that I will not be sheepish to share! The group starts posting their recipes Oct 1. I’m ready to go!

IMG_2497 (600x400)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in Food, Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Around My French Table/French Fridays with Dorie

  1. food-4tots

    September 28, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Wow! I really admire your courage to take up these new challenges. I’m totally new to French cooking. Maybe I will consult you one day when I’m ready to learn French cooking like you. ;)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      September 28, 2010 at 6:53 pm

      I’m just learning with the book and joining FFwD will push me to use it. :) Hey, why don’t you get the book and cook along too? It will be fun!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

