RSS

Computer woes

28 Sep

This is the second time I’m composing this post. The first one mysteriously disappeared after I clicked on ‘Save Draft’. Don’t you hate it when that happens. Anyway, I was talking about the computers in the house developing problems whenever my husband is away. It’s strange, I tell you. They seem to know the Computer Boss is not around and they decide to act funny on me, as if being on my own with 2 kids is not stressful enough. Some times I can fix the problem but most times I have to send an SOS to Kip. Once he had to virtually access the computer from the neighbouring country where he was working at that time to address the problem. Last night he guided me over the phone to check my notebook’s IP and what-nots to get reconnected to the Internet. I had lost Internet connection after being online just 40 minutes before the problem. Something about the notebook pointing to the wrong DNS server.

This afternoon, my notebook said bye-bye. It went blank while I was using it. Just like that. No warnings, flickering or beeps. Just flat-lined. I looked up to check if there was a power failure but there wasn’t. It was just the notebook deciding to go away and took all my photos, draft blog posts which I composed using the Windows Live Writer and other documents I have saved on it along. I’m using the other computer in the house now. Computer Boss said my data can be retrieved but I’m afraid I won’t get it before Friday which is the day I’m supposed to post my first recipe from Around My French Table on FFwD, sob! I baked the gougères on Sunday and had taken pictures of them, all ready for my blog post. I can’t have my first ever FFwD post with no pictures! Sob! Sob!

I’m keeping my fingers crossed and saying a prayer that my notebook will revive tomorrow. Please, please boot up!!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2010 in Life

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Computer woes

  1. ssaucie

    October 2, 2010 at 1:44 am

    is that a pc that gave up on you?
    a mac would never dare! (fingers crossed.)
    always backup.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 2, 2010 at 9:39 am

      It was a PC and it was a hardware problem. A fan would break on a old mac too, no?

       
    • Ker-Yng

      October 2, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Update: It was a cable problem. Btw, a mac is also a pc but running a different OS. It is also using an Intel chipset. :)

       
  2. saucie

    October 4, 2010 at 9:10 am

    ahh.. did your homework yes.
    i must say i am not sure where the fan is, even. @_@

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

