RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Gougères

01 Oct

This is the first FFwD recipe, whee! The recipes for October were selected by Dorie herself. I suspect she chose this as the first one because it’s a simple recipe and thus will give us all an encouraging start!

Gougères are French choux pastry with cheese. Think profiteroles but instead of sweet and with cream filling, it’s savory and cheesy with no filling. They are very yummy especially when warm. Big Kid tells me it’s pronounced ‘goo-cher’ but I just say ‘cheese puffs’.

This is my second time baking these pastry. I lost the pictures from my first attempt when the notebook broke on Tuesday. There was no choice but to re-bake as I don’t want to miss the very first assignment! It helps that it’s a no-sweat recipe and can be completed in 40 minutes. Each time I baked only half the recipe. I used Gruyère cheese. I found that if I bake the gougères for 12 minutes after rotating the trays they are a nice golden colour but soft. If I baked them for 15 minutes they turn a darker brown and have a crunch like a crispy puff.

Check out how other bakers did on French Fridays with Dorie.com.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Gougères

  1. Karen

    October 1, 2010 at 1:07 am

    beautiful! :)

     
  2. Good Bite In

    October 1, 2010 at 4:54 am

    That’s dedication baking them twice! They look lovely too!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      Not by choice, haha! Thanks!

       
  3. jayne

    October 1, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Beautiful job!

     
  4. yanny

    October 1, 2010 at 10:21 am

    How come there’s no recipe this time?

     
  5. Ker-Yng

    October 1, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    @Karen: Thanks!

    @ jayne: Thanks!

    @yanny: I can’t post the recipe as it’s one of the ‘club rules’ to encourage everyone to buy their own book.

     
  6. Serene - momfoodproject.com

    October 2, 2010 at 3:32 am

    Beautiful! So sorry you lost the first pics, but the ones that came out are great.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 2, 2010 at 9:53 am

      Thanks. Baking them twice means my family got to eat them twice. No losers there! :)

       
  7. mike

    October 3, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I could bake them twice as well – maybe 3 times! Well done – you’ve really captured the essence of their puffyness!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

