RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Gerard’s Mustard Tart

08 Oct

Gerard’s Mustard Tart is this week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe.  It’s a savory tart that has a buttery crust and a filling made of eggs, cream, milk and mustard. Steamed leeks and carrots top the tart.

I was  nervous about making this as it involves making a pie crust. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve made pie crusts. While I have no issues with the making of the dough, I find rolling it out tricky… and messy – flour everywhere and a dirty counter surface to clean up after.

I made the dough with a pastry blender and it came together quite easily. I chilled the dough overnight and rolled it out the next day in a pie crust maker. It was very easy to use and the best thing is there’s no big clean-up job. Just wash the bag! Dorie said to roll the dough out to at least 12 inches in diameter but I find my dough just making it to 12 inches. I suppose I could roll it out another inch but I was worried about my dough being too thin. I transferred the dough to the tart pan and was careful not to stretch it, lifting and dropping instead of pulling. I freeze the dough overnight before baking it today but to my disappointment, the dough did shrink about 1/4 inch. I must have stretched it somehow. Can someone tell me please, how do people roll out large, supple dough??

However, I’m pleased with the end result. The tart looked rustic and the taste was good. I got to admit I’m not crazy about this tart as I’m not a big mustard fan but I still ate 2 slices. Love the crust! I used only (Maille) Dijon mustard as I didn’t have any grainy mustard.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Gerard’s Mustard Tart

  1. jayne

    October 8, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Your tart looks beautiful! Great job!

     
  2. JENNY

    October 8, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Your tart looks awesome. I was a bit weary about a mustard tart – just didn’t think mustard belongs in a tart, but after reading other FFwD blogs, I think I might just have to give this a try. Thanks for sharing and nice to find another fellow Malaysian in the group.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 8, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks. The mustard taste is not overly strong but you know it’s there, just like eating a hotdog with mustard. You could halve the recipe. :)

       
  3. Tia

    October 8, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    how incredibly perfect looking. just the right amount of browning, filling/crust ratio. it looks delicious, great job! Tia @ Buttercreambarbie

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 8, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      Nice of you to stop by. Thanks for your comments. :)

       
  4. spike

    October 8, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    this tart seems to do pretty well even with non mustard fans! looks great

     
  5. Mary

    October 8, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Thank you for linking to the pie crust maker. I need to get one of those!

     
  6. Trevor Sis Boom

    October 8, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I had no idea they made pie crust makers! I’m ordering one now. Your finished tart is fantastic!
    Trevor Sis Boom.

     
  7. Candy

    October 8, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Your crust looks perfect. Great job!

     
  8. Kim

    October 8, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Pastry dough is such a tricky thing, isn’t it? I dread making it because of the mess sometimes, but I have to say that I was really pleased with Dorie’s recipe. The crust really made the tart.

    Both you tart and your crust, as well as your picture, look terrific! Great job:)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 8, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      Thanks. I got to say I am looking forward to another tart recipe so I can practice my dough rolling. :)

       
  9. Kay

    October 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    The tart looks really good, and I wouldn’t have been able to tell that that crust shrunk. I’ve not seen or used a pie crust maker before, but I roll my pastry dough between 2 sheets of greaseproof paper. The paper allows me to roll the pastry as thinly as I want it, and maneuver and shift the rolled out dough into place on the pan, without breaking or stretching it. Once it’s in place, I just peel off the greaseproof paper, prick the dough all over with a fork (also helps prevent shrinking) before baking. So far it has worked quite well for me so you might want to give it a try too. But as i’ve said, the tart already looks very good!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 9, 2010 at 10:56 pm

      Thanks for the compliment! :) I may try your method next time. I’ve seen videos of dough being rolled out between greaseproof paper and also between food wrap, it *looks* so easy. The pie crust maker works the same way except you unzip the bag and open it up instead of lifting off the top piece of paper/wrap. I like that the bag is round so it gives a visual guide when rolling out the dough. I’m sure I’ll get better with practice!

       
  10. onewetfoot

    October 9, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Yours turned out really beautifully! The pie crust maker looks really useful.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

