RSS

Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

17 Oct

My friend, Mariko, whom I haven’t seen in more than a year, came over to visit yesterday with her family. It was great catching up with her and seeing her family again. I know Mariko has a weakness for food that’s sweet and salty so this chocolate-crunched caramel tart was the perfect thing to bake for her. It’s a chocolate tart with a bottom layer of peanuts enrobed in caramel.

You can get the recipe for the tart crust here. I made the tart crust by hand and rolled it out in my pie crust maker as I find it difficult to press the dough into the pan.

You can get the recipe for the tart here. Dorie said the tart should be served the day it is made so I did everything the night before except pour the ganache over the tart. I kept the tart at room temperature overnight. The next day, I warmed the ganache and finished assembling the tart. The recipe says to refrigerate the assembled tart for no longer than 30 minutes and then keep it at room temperature until serving time so that the caramel layer is soft and stretchy and the chocolate smooth. However, my ganache did not set in 30 minutes. I put it back in the refrigerator longer but it still did not set up firmly when I cut into it later. The chocolate layer drooped all over and covered the sides of the slice of tart. I stored the leftover tart in the refrigerator overnight and took it out the next morning and let it come to room temperature before cutting a slice. The ganache has set but it still pulls away with the knife.  You can see in the photo the chocolate layer drooping at the tip of the slice.

The tart tastes good though; crunchy peanuts, soft caramel and melt-on-your-tongue smooth chocolate, all on a buttery crust. If I were to make this tart again, I would finish assembling the tart the night before, store it in the refrigerator and serve it the next day at room temperature. I will also use regular salted roasted peanuts in place of honey-roasted peanuts so there will be more ‘salty’ in the tart. Mariko thinks the tart is very nice and even took some home. That should be enough to tell me the tart was a success. :)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2010 in Baking, Food

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

  1. yanny

    October 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Say ‘hello’ to Mariko when you see her next. Her daughter looks as sweet as ever and her son is handsome too.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      Will do that. Her children are adorable!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

