RSS

French Onion Soup

21 Oct

There’s 3 cups of beef broth leftover in my refrigerator from making Hachis Parmentier, the next FFWD recipe posting this Friday, and I want to use it up while it’s still ‘fresh’. I decided to make French onion soup, something that has been on my ‘To Make’ list for the longest time. I dusted off my Donna Hay: Modern Classics Book 1 and looked for her French onion soup recipe. I knew she had a simple one in there.

The soup came together quite fast. You have to keep checking on the onions when they’re cooking as they go from white to brown to burnt quite fast when you’re not looking. Yeah, my soup has a smoky taste. I made Parmesan toast to go with it too. All together it made a good lunch.

French Onion Soup
(adapted from Donna Hay: Modern Classics Book 1)

3 large Spanish onions, sliced into rings
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 tablespoon dried thyme
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon brandy
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
4 cups organic beef broth (I had only 3 cups so I added a cup of chicken broth)

Place the onions, butter, oil and thyme in a large saucepan over medium heat, cover and cook for 35 minutes, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden.

Add the flour and cook, stirring for 3 minutes. Add the brandy and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the mustard and broth and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.

Ladle the soup into bowls and serve with toasted cheese sandwiches or parmesan toast.

Parmesan Toasts
(from Donna Hay: Modern Classics  Book 1)

Top 4 slices of crusty bread with 1 cup roughly grated parmesan cheese. Cook under a hot grill (broiler) until golden.

I’m linking this post to Brenda’s Canadian Kitchen Cookbook Sundays.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2010 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “French Onion Soup

  1. Katrina

    October 22, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Yum! I love French onion soup, it’s so much easier to serve it with cheese toast than to broil it in a bowl. (I did the same thing.)
    Since I took the slow method with my Hachis Parmentier and also had leftover beef broth, I used it to braise more beef with chilies and salsa for taco meat. Yum!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

      Don’t you love it when one meal gives you leftovers for another meal, even better when you can make something totally different!

       
  2. Brenda

    October 24, 2010 at 8:16 am

    This looks like a much better and healthier version of French onion soup without that huge thick layer of cheese on top. I much prefer it this way and I like the idea of serving it with cheese toast. Thank you so much for linking this recipe up to Cookbook Sundays, it looks delicious!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 24, 2010 at 4:32 pm

      You’re welcome and thanks for your comments. :)

       
  3. Melynda@Moms Sunday Cafe

    October 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Looks rich and delicious. Don’t you just love the flavor of thyme with beef. Thanks for sharing this soup, it is a great way to use up any roast leftovers.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      Thanks and you’re welcome!

       
  4. Lisa

    October 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    That really does look like a delicious lunch. Love that dark color of the soup.

     
  5. Carla

    October 25, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I am a huge fan of French Onion Soup, though I have never attempted it at home. Guess I’m going to have to give it a try now. Your photo has me craving it like a pregnancy craving, and I’m not pregnant.

     
  6. Ker-Yng

    October 25, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    @ Lisa: Thanks.

    @ Carla: That’s so funny! It was my first time making french onion soup and it was easier than I thought or least this recipe was. Hope it turns out easy for you too.

     
  7. Elsa

    October 25, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Wow, this looks delicious. I’ve seen so many onion soups that do not look appealing (mainly because they require store bought spice packets). I want to try this recipe out though.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Thanks. Hope you’ll enjoy the soup as much as I did.

       
  8. Couscous & Consciousness

    October 25, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    I love French Onion Soup – tragically my partner doesn’t, in fact he wouldn’t even come in the house if I made (note to self – revisit this the next time he goes away!). This looks great – I love Donna Hay’s books. I have several of them and find them all totally reliable.
    Sue

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      Thanks for your comment. This is only the 2nd recipe I’ve made from DH’s Modern Classics 1! It truly was just a coffee-table book for me. ;-)

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

