RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Hachis Parmentier

22 Oct

Update 2 Nov: You can get the recipe here http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=130921453 as well as listen to Dorie make it on the radio clip.

Hachis Parmentier (Ah-shee Pahr-mon-te-a) is this week’s FFWD pick. It’s a meat-and-mashed-potato pie similar to a shepherd’s pie. The recipe calls for homemade beef broth made by slow-boiling beef with vegetables but I didn’t have the time this week. I took the shortcut given by Dorie in the Bonne Idee (Good Idea) section and used store-bought beef broth and ground beef. The way I look at it, if we can use store-bought chicken broth to make the Vietnamese noodle soup, we can use store-bought beef broth for this pie. And I bought Wolfgang Puck’s Organic Beef Broth so I can tell myself it’s as good as homemade broth, non? ;-)

Now, I don’t know how a made-from-scratch hachis parmentier tastes but my shortcut version was not bad. The filling was rich and savoury from the combination of beef and mild Italian sausages and the mashed potato topping was smooth and creamy with Gruyère cheese melted in. I did sauté 2 cloves of garlic before cooking the sausages and added some chopped cilantro (way more flavour than parsley) and dried thyme. The next time I make this I’ll make the broth. I’m curious to know how the boiled beef chunk would taste.

By the way, Dorie always says to remove the germ from the garlic. I looked up garlic germ and found that: a) the germ is the sprout in the centre of the garlic clove and b) the germ is acidic and can cause indigestion. So if you’re prone to indigestion due to garlic, remove the germ before using the garlic.

Go to French Fridays with Dorie and click on Leave Your Link (LYL): Hachis Parmentier to look at how others made their hachis parmentier especially those who followed the recipe fully!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Hachis Parmentier

  1. Good Bite In

    October 22, 2010 at 1:38 am

    I didn’t realise that about the germ of the garlic … I must admit I left it in!

     
  2. jayne

    October 22, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Looks great! I did a modified long version, which came out great, I thought. But I’m thinking the short version would be a lot easier (on me) on a week night! Great job!

     
  3. Mary

    October 22, 2010 at 8:05 am

    I lived on the edge and kept the germ in my garlic..it was still good!

     
  4. Monica

    October 22, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I did the long version and it was excellent… the chopped beef with the sausage at the end takes the same texture as if you would be using ground beef – so there is no differences there. And great tip on the garlic!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 22, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Thanks for letting me know.

       
  5. everystore

    October 22, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Looks lovely. I found the boiled beef a little dry, but then once it got mixed with everything else and baked, the texture was nice again, so I’m not complaining. And doing the long version meant I have a couple cups of nice beef stock left to make something else with.

    Yours looks great! (I don’t ever degerm garlic, and probably won’t start.)

     
  6. Trevor Sis Boom

    October 23, 2010 at 4:20 am

    I think you were smart to use the shortcut version! Mine tasted great and taught me a bit about life in the meantime but next time its the shortcut for me!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

     
  7. Cakelaw

    October 23, 2010 at 5:34 am

    I love the golden top on your pie! Thanks for the explanation about the germ – I had no idea what it was, and I have been blithely including it in everything.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

