RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

28 Oct

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) recipe is so easy, I can make it every day! You just mix everything together with a whisk and fold in the apples with a spatula. My pink KitchenAid was probably wondering why she wasn’t needed this time.

I used a mixture of Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Mcintosh and Empire apples and these apples were large. When folding them into the batter, I was worried that my cake wasn’t going to turn out well because there was just enough batter to coat the apples. It looks like it was going to be apples coated with cake rather than a cake with apples in it! As it turns out, I didn’t have a layer of cake over the apples and the apples were showing at the top. Oh well, I’ll pretend it’s a rustic French country cake!

Dark rum is used in this recipe and it adds so much to the cake. I could smell the rum as I was mixing the batter and I was wishing I could eat it already. When the cake was almost done, you could smell the rum from the oven and when the cake was out and cooling on the rack, the aroma of apples and rum wafted through the house. Mm-mm! I used Gosling Dark Seal Rum.

The cake was very moist and the different types of apples gave it an interesting texture – soft, mushy and crunchy – and mixed flavours – sweet and tart. This cake is good by itself or served with ice-cream or whipped cream. I made some rum-flavoured whipped cream to go with it and it was magnifique! I’ll definitely make this cake again and with different apples for a change.

This is the last FFWD recipe for the month of October which were all chosen by Dorie Greenspan from her latest book, Around my French Table. Next month’s recipes will be chosen by popular vote from a list drawn up by the FFWD staff. Go over to French Fridays with Dorie to have a look at other apple cakes and/or to join the club!

Update: This recipe can be found on the Epicurious.com website. (Thanks, SweetBites!)

Update 31/10/2010: I baked this again with medium apples (around 160g each) and this time I have some extra batter to go over the top, giving me a little more cake than the previous time. I used honeycrisp, golden delicious, gala and empire apples. I also cut the apples into smaller chunks, like not 1″ – 2″ chunks as per the recipe. Result: A nice layer of crusty cake over the apples. I’m happy now. :)

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2010 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

  1. kitchen flavours

    October 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I’m gonna bake this cake very soon. Saw the recipe at amazon last week and thought wow, this is so simple. Looks really yummy, rum flavoured whipped cream is a perfect idea!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 28, 2010 at 11:37 pm

      It is simple and yummy, great for tea! Looking forward to your blog post when you bake it. :)

       
  2. Trevor Sis Boom

    October 29, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I am learning that the best recipes to learn, cook, blog about are the very simple ones that would otherwise get past up in the blogosphere. This was just so perfect for so many reasons, don’t you think? Your looks just beautiful! I think it works best with apples peeking out over the top.
    Trevor Sis Boom.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      October 29, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Thanks. I’m learning that sometimes it’s better not to have a picture for the recipe so you can’t compare and just be happy with your own results! ;-)

       
  3. steph (whisk/spoon)

    October 31, 2010 at 9:56 am

    looks just perfect! i loved the rum and vanilla in this.

     
  4. f00d-4tots

    November 1, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Love the idea to use different apples in baking this cake. So happy that your 2nd attempt turned out great! Well done! ;)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 1, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      Thank you! :)

       
  5. babe_kl

    November 1, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    This cake looks good and thanks for visiting my blog.

     
  6. luciacara

    November 29, 2010 at 6:39 am

    Your cake looks really good! We loved this, too, and I agree about the rum. I also am going to cut the apples smaller next time (soon! :))…very good idea!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

