RSS

Growing Roots

08 Nov

I met my pastor today to formally go over my church membership application. Over coffee in Second Cup, we chatted and she went through the membership covenant with me which I signed and that’s it, I’m officially a member of the bridge. I’m happy and at the same time relieved – another chapter of settling in to Canada is done. It’s like when we first moved into our house, it felt good not to be renting any more and also owning a house here gave us a sense of permanence. Right after moving to the city where we bought our house we started looking for a church. We wanted a church that will be right for the whole family. A strong Sunday School program for the kids was as important to us as good worship and sound preaching for the adults. We found it all at the bridge, a church we have been going to since last August.

Being part of a church family gives us an even stronger sense of having settled into the community. Kip and I are now involved in church ministries, he in the music ministry and I in the missions team. In addition, Kip attends the men’s fellowship every Saturday and I attend the moms’ group meeting every Wednesday. We have made many friends in church and we look forward to seeing them every week.

My family and I are taking root here and we praise God for that. How deep the roots will grow remains unseen though. However, I trust in God’s faithfulness and providence and our future is in his hands!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Growing Roots

  1. kitchen flavours

    November 9, 2010 at 2:10 am

    Glad to hear that you have set a solid foundation in your new home! Here’s to a blissful, happy and contented life to you and your family! Cheers!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 9, 2010 at 7:19 am

      Thanks for your kind thoughts. :)

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

