RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux

11 Nov

I’m posting this for this week’s French Fridays with Dorie. (We decide the order of the recipes on our own this month.) It’s roast chicken for lazy people, according to Dorie’s introduction to the recipe. You just season the chicken, stuff its cavity with herbs and garlic, put it in a Dutch oven, strew more herbs and garlic around and put the pot in the oven and let it roast till it’s done. If you’re not that lazy, you can take the pot out halfway and add in some vegetables. The twist to this recipe is to put a thick slice of bread (I used 3 pieces of baguette) on the bottom of the pot and lay the chicken on top of it. It elevates the chicken for better heat circulation, just like laying a layer of vegetables at the bottom of the roasting pan would. However, with the bread trick, you get a tasty piece of bread that’s crispy on one side and soggy on the other, and soaked with chicken juice that’s just perfect as a cook’s treat. 

This simple dish, however, did not turn out perfectly for me. When the chicken was cooked and the skin on top was golden and crispy, I discovered the cavity of the chicken was filled with pink juices. I flipped the chicken over and could see that the underside wasn’t fully cooked yet. I had to cook the chicken longer and ended up with half the chicken overcooked. The crispy skin also got softened because I had turned the chicken over to cook the second time. I also tore the skin and almost broke off a leg when turning the chicken! Taste wise, I didn’t get a lot of flavour from the chicken, I enjoyed the vegetables that I added in more. Hmm, looks like the bread turned out the best in this dish!

Will I make this particular chicken again? Most likely not but I am likely to employ the two tips I learnt from this recipe the next time I roast a chicken – the bread trick and roasting in a Dutch oven. The high sides of the pot kept the oven clean from oil splatters although the pot did get pretty stained but nothing a paste made from baking soda couldn’t handle.

Hop over to French Fridays with Dorie and click on LYL: November 12 to check out the other recipes for this month.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2010 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux

  1. kitchen flavours

    November 12, 2010 at 2:30 am

    The chicken looks pretty yummy to me. Looks very tender too. I have never tried baking in a Dutch oven before, as you know Dutch oven is not that popular over here, but would love to own one. I love the ones on Anna Olson’s show!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 12, 2010 at 10:02 am

      Le Creuset is too expensive here to be popular, I’m sure it’s much more in MY. I redeemed mine using frequent flyer miles. :) I use it to make curries and rendangs!

       
  2. Flourchild

    November 12, 2010 at 8:38 am

    It looks so good! I loved this recipe. I found the bread to be an interesting twist!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

      Thanks. The bread is a good distraction if the chicken doesn’t turn out too well! ;-)

       
  3. SoupAddict

    November 12, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Bummer about the chicken! Sometimes those things just happen. Glad you got enjoy the bread, though!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 12, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Yes, the bread was good. Thanks for coming over.

       
  4. Jenn

    November 12, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Aww.. sorry you didn’t like the chicken. It looks great!

    I wasn’t sure if I would like it either. I used a small/young chicken (2 lbs) and it turned out good, the meat is more tender. I was surprised that I liked it, it was pretty tasty.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Maybe it would have tasted great for me too if it had cooked properly. I may try it again and use a smaller chicken like you did. :)

       
  5. stephirey

    November 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Interesting that your chicken didn’t cook all the way…that’s too bad! But, glad you learned a couple of tricks that you can use in the future!

     
  6. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    November 12, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Your chicken looks yummy! (Love your dutch oven as well.) I was not fond of the bread- I may have done something wrong.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      Thanks. I find the bread tasty but too oily. A small piece is enough for me!

       
  7. onewetfoot

    November 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

    That’s too bad that your chicken didn’t turn out. Glad you liked the bread, though. I agree that a small piece is enough.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

