RSS

Christmas Baking

17 Nov

It’s the season for Christmas baking! I kicked it off by soaking a kilogram of dried fruits and peel in a heady combination of brandy, Grand Marnier and rum. They will be absolutely lovely when I use them to bake my mum’s rich fruitcake next month.

I bought these although I’m not sure if I’ll be using them this year:

I’m also planning to make a Pecan Pie, Empire cookies and Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies. A caramel fruitcake is on my mind too. I just need to plan and come up with a work schedule in order for these baked goodies to materialise!

What will you be baking this Christmas? Leave a comment and let me know. It will be fun to look and drool over one another’s lists. :)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2010 in Baking, Food

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Christmas Baking

  1. kitchen flavours

    November 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    The fruits remind me of my mom’s fruitcake too! Her fruitcake is always the one everyone will reach for during Chinese New Year, she uses brandy! I can’t wait to see your mom’s fruitcake, recipes like this are a treasure to keep and to pass down to our children one day, that is, if they are interested in baking at all! I will be at my sister’s place, as we do each year, as she is the only one who is celebrating Christmas. Have not planned anything yet! Will have to start searching and sourcing for Christmas recipes, and not to mention the last-minute shopping for Christmas presents!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 18, 2010 at 9:36 am

      I can’t wait to make the fruitcake too! :) Hope you’ll have fun searching for Christmas recipes and also at your sister’s celebration. Have a good weekend!

       
  2. kitchen flavours

    November 17, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Hi, I have done the link for the email subscription to my posts. You can try, I don’t know whether it works!

     
  3. Min Cheh

    November 21, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I just made your mum’s caramel fruitcake last week.Yum!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      I just got the recipe from her. :)

       
  4. tia

    November 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Love the linzer cutters and the fruitcake ingresients all ready to go. All those fruits, etc can be quite expensive – I was planning on making fruitcake this year then realized how much it would cost :(

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      I spent more last year but this year I spend just $10 on the fruits in Bulk Barn. Didn’t buy the more expensive currants and less of the fruit peel.

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

