RSS

Farm Fresh Eggs

25 Nov

Last night at the OnMission meeting, Ernst gave us each a box of eggs fresh from his farm (Diversity Farms on Vandorf Road). I was excited to be able to eat farm fresh eggs and I made a half-boiled egg as soon as everyone had left! I haven’t had half-boiled eggs for so long as I only want to eat eggs that way if they’re fresh. These eggs are so fresh that they slip a little ‘warning’ inside the box: Super fresh eggs are hard to peel.  Let them sit for about 2 weeks in the fridge before boiling and they will be easy to peel. Huh!

This morning I had eggs for breakfast, of course. Sunny side up egg on toast and a half-boiled egg. You can tell the egg is fresh when you crack it into the pan and it doesn’t spread all over the pan and the yolk ‘sits up’. Mine sat up nice and proud and the white was so thick it took forever to cook! Slide it on to a piece of buttered toast and grind some pepper over. Eat over a plate to catch the drips! To make the half-boiled egg, put the egg in a saucepan of cold water, bring it to a boil and fish the egg out after 2 1.5 to 2 minutes. Mine became 3/4-cooked because I was distracted and the whites were not as soft as I would like. Crack the egg and scoop out the egg to a bowl. Drizzle in some soy sauce and sprinkle some white pepper over. Yum! Childhood breakfast all over again.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2010 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Farm Fresh Eggs

  1. yummychunklet

    November 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I’m jealous of your farm fresh eggs! I’m in Chicago, and those items are hard to find.

     
  2. Open Roads Mama

    November 25, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    yummmmm! now I want eggs too – tomorrow, for breakfast!!

     
  3. kitchen flavours

    November 26, 2010 at 3:36 am

    How delightful! Farm fresh eggs for breakfast! Eggs are my kids favourite, especially half boiled eggs. Now you have me craving for some half boiled eggs, Chinese style, pepper and see yau!

     
  4. Ker-Yng

    November 26, 2010 at 9:42 am

    @ yummychunklet, Open Roads Mama and kitchen flavours:
    I’m amused to know you like eggs as much as I do too! Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

     
  5. joel pang

    November 26, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Am i seeing servings of malaysie kopi tiam….just short of kopi kau !

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 26, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      Haha, yeah, and the kaya toast! :)

       
  6. Teresa

    November 27, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    I get eggs from my parents’ hobby farm. They are wonderful; especially for baking.

     
  7. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    November 28, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Fresh eggs are such a delight! I’ve been so spoiled having my hens that I don’t even like to buy eggs at the grocery when their egg-laying slows down. That egg on the toast looks so good!

     
  8. kitchen flavours

    November 29, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Hi Ker-Yng, I have a couple of awards over at my blog. Please do stop by and collect when you can. Have a lovely day!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      Oh wow, thanks!! I’m not sure how it works but I’ll find out over at your site! :)

       
  9. Mary

    December 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    I love eggs too, but too often just use the supermarket ones. Your eggs look amazing, and I’ve never heard of a half-boiled egg, but I do like my boiled or poached eggs with the white still a bit runny, so it sounds like perfection to me. I know what my breakfast is going to be on Sunday, when I have a bit of time to enjoy it. :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 1, 2010 at 8:30 pm

      Thanks :) I think another name for half-boiled egg is soft-boiled egg.

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

