RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Leek and Potato Soup

10 Dec

Dorie is right, this is a simple soup to make. Leeks and potato cooked in chicken broth and milk. The soup came together in under an hour and it was very satisfying. I followed the recipe except for the potatoes, I used 2 instead of 1. I wanted to have some potato chunks in my soup but I also wanted a smooth soup. So when the soup was done, I scooped out some potatoes before hitting it with my immersion blender. I also made my own croutons because I happen to have a stale bun in the bread bin.

From this:

to this in 40 minutes:

Bon appetit!

This recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan‘s Around My French Table.

This month FFWD members are free to select the recipe they want to make each week from the December set of recipes. Check out what other members made here.

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Leek and Potato Soup

  1. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff

    December 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Lovely transformation!

     
  2. kitchen flavours

    December 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    The soup looks really good. A good idea to add extra potato, giving the soup a richer and yummier taste! Thank you for your email! Will be making this as a surprise for my sis!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 12, 2010 at 10:51 pm

      Thanks. I hope your sister will like the nuts!

       
  3. tricia

    December 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Gorgeous color and photo of finished soup – my spoon is “at the ready”. I can’t wait to try this one. Great job.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 12, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks for the compliments and for visiting my blog.

       
  4. Clare Chan

    December 27, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Hey, my mom just made stir fry leek with siu yuk. I was thinking of the leek and potato soup with wild rice recipe … and I chanced on your leek soup. Looks pretty good. Might try it.
    Clare

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 29, 2010 at 12:16 am

      Nice of you to drop by, Clare. :) Let me know if you need the recipe.

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

