RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

30 Dec

I haven’t cooked dinner at home for so many nights now since the Christmas break! I don’t have vegetables in my fridge too save for some green onions, cilantro, 2 tomatoes and a half a bag of organic carrots. Thanks to the bag of carrots I’m able to participate in French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) this week. :)

This carrot dish is tasty! Onions, garlic, ginger and cardamom are sautéed in butter (butter, not oil, makes a difference!) before the sliced carrots are added in with some chicken broth to cook. I didn’t remove the seeds from the cardamom pods and use whole pods instead because I mistook ‘seeds’ for ‘pods’ when I was reading the recipe. I did give the pods a light smash with the knife. I wasn’t sure how thin to cut the carrots too so I sliced them Chinese-stir-fry thin. Next time I’ll either cut them thicker or cook them for a shorter period so the carrots won’t be too soft.

The cardamom taste wasn’t very strong and overall this dish felt like a Chinese/Asian dish to me because of the ginger. It’s a great way to cook carrots though and I’ll be making this dish again.

This recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan‘s Around My French Table.

This month FFWD members are free to select the recipe they want to make each week from the December set of recipes. Check out what other members made here.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2010 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

  1. joel pang

    December 31, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Cardamom pods is fine with just a slight smash to release the flavour which is what I used to do. I’d suggest you cut the carrot the way the Chinese do – cut and turn and cut, in a longest shape. You may adjust the size to your liking. The chicken broth is sure to make the dish tasty. Perhaps you may add a bit of green garnish to make it more appealing.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 31, 2010 at 11:47 am

      I did add some chopped cilantro before serving but not for the photo. The green looked very vibrant on the orange!

       
  2. Candy

    December 31, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I made these this week too. I loved them. Next time, maybe a little something different, but thought that the technique made some pretty yummy carrots!

    Glad you had fun – loved your story!

     
  3. yummychunklet

    December 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Interesting. I like how you left the whole pod in the dish. I went even more shortcut by using pre-cut carrots AND ground cardamom! Have a Happy New Year!

     
  4. Jessica of My Baking Heart

    December 31, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Looking good! These were a hit at our dinner last night – so yummy! Happy New Year! :)

     
  5. Trevor Sis Boom

    December 31, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    OK, now I MUST go find the pods… Looks great!

     
  6. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff

    January 1, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    I used the pods and almost left them whole too, but once I “bruised” them, I realized there were little seeds inside. They definitely had a lovely flavor. I also left my carrots pretty big, so they stayed crispy. Your carrots look so good and I bet the cilantro was the perfect contrast. Happy New Year!

     
  7. Audrey

    January 1, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I missed these! I love carrots and it’s always good to find a new way to cook them. Thanks so much for visiting my blog…and Happy New Year!

     
  8. Teresa

    January 2, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    I loved these carrots; they come together so magically.

    Happy New Year!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm

      I agree! Happy New Year to you too. Have a great year of blogging!

       
  9. kitchen flavours

    January 3, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    This is an interesting dish! Happy New Year 2011!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

