RSS

First accomplishment of the year: Carving a chicken

04 Jan

I did it! I carved a whole chicken!! A small deal to many perhaps but an accomplishment to me nonetheless! Even though I occasionally buy rotisserie chicken and roasted a few myself, I never got the hang of carving a chicken. I would carve one with the faint idea of how to do in my head but would end up butchering it. There would be chunks and scraps of meat on the platter instead of neat identifiable pieces of chicken.

Well, today I roasted a chicken for dinner again. It turned out beautifully. I was determined not to ruin it with shabby carving. So what do I do? I turned to the Incredible Internet, specifically, YouTube. The video that caught my eye had a screen shot of a hand on a piece of chicken. That was more realistic to me than one that had a shot of a carving tong in the chicken. I tried holding on to the chicken with a tong or fork before when carving it and it didn’t work. Anyway, back to the video, it is by Howcast and it has Marc Murphy, a restaurant owner, showing you how to carve a roasted chicken. It may not be the best video on the subject out there but it did helped me and for that, I’m grateful.

Here’s the video I watched:

And here’s a picture of my carved chicken pieces or what’s left of them because Mummy has to give food to her hungry children before Mummy can play with the camera. :)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in Cooking, Food, Life

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “First accomplishment of the year: Carving a chicken

  1. yummychunklet

    January 5, 2011 at 1:33 am

    Congrats! That is a feat! I still need to tackle that one. I was happy enough to roast a whole chicken last year!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 5, 2011 at 8:11 am

      Thanks! I made the ‘Hurry-Up-and-Wait Chicken’ last night and I wanted it to be successful right till the end!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

