RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Paris Mushroom Soup

07 Jan

Mushroom soup, another first for me (in terms of cooking)! This Paris Mushroom Soup is simple to make and uses easily available and inexpensive white button mushrooms. I halved the recipe and it was just right for my family. I also omitted the dry white wine (1/2 of 1/3 = too little to bother with, and I don’t have any), sub the parsley with thyme (because I didn’t have any too) and used Pacific organic chicken broth.

The soup was tasty although the texture was a little rough. Dorie had forewarned that if we use an immersion blender we will probably not get a super-smooth soup. You’re right there, Dorie! I couldn’t use the turbo speed because the soup will spit out so I used a medium speed and stopped when all the mushrooms were pureed and the soup was thick.

Then the fun part, the mushroom salad. We were to put uncooked mushroom with some herbs and salt and pepper in the soup plates before ladling the hot soup over. I was apprehensive at first because I was afraid half-cooked mushrooms wouldn’t taste good so I sliced the mushrooms really thin, although I think the recipe meant for the mushrooms to be left whole. I didn’t have chives too but only green onions so that was the only green. The mushrooms cooked surprisingly fast and they were pretty good. You can tell I don’t eat raw mushrooms, right? My husband thought the soup was good but tasted Asian with the chopped green onions!

French Fridays with Dorie is back to its usual format of every member cooking the same dish each week. Click here to look at the Paris Mushroom Soup other members made.

Next week’s recipe: Gnocchi a la parisienne

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2011 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Paris Mushroom Soup

  1. yummychunklet

    January 7, 2011 at 11:41 am

    I think your soup turned out great! I wasn’t sure about the “salad”, so I just used the ingredients as garnish. Tasty soup!

     
  2. Jessica of My Baking Heart

    January 7, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Now I’m wishing I hadn’t skipped the ‘salad’ part! Yours looks great! :)

     
  3. Candy Girl

    January 7, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    I omitted the salad completely because as bad as I hate cooked mushrooms, I hate raw ones even more! Your soup looks great!

     
  4. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    January 7, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Looks delicious! I sliced my “salad” mushrooms thin too. :)

     
  5. kitchen flavours

    January 8, 2011 at 2:44 am

    I have not tried making mushroom soup either. Wanted to many times though! My family loves mushroom soup. Yours look very delicious! Having a bowl of mushroom soup at the restaurant is not cheap either. I should really try to make some!

     
  6. Trevor Sis Boom

    January 8, 2011 at 10:57 am

    I read and read that salad recipe looking for instructions on the salad. I really can’t imagine leaving a whole mushroom in the bowl is the ‘right’ thing to do. I really think its an editing mistake. (Like leaving out an egg in a cookie recipe!)
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 8, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      I think you’re right. We really have to follow our instincts and use common sense when following a recipe sometimes!

       
  7. Teresa

    January 8, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I used sliced mushrooms, too. The salad gave great contrast to the soup, both in flavour and texture.

     
  8. stephirey

    January 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I sliced all my mushrooms by mistake…but I think in the end that’s what the salad needed. A large, whole mushroom wouldn’t be too great, I don’t think. Your soup looks delicious!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 10, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks! A large, whole mushroom wouldn’t be elegant French too, I think!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

