RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Gnocchi a la Parisienne

14 Jan

It’s Friday already!! I had forgotten all about writing my French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) post! I didn’t forget to make this week’s dish though. We had it for dinner on Tuesday and this is what it looked like, a dish of thick, soft dumpling baked in a Béchamel sauce with cheese on top:

It’s called Gnocchi a la Parisienne, where the gnocchi (the dumplings) are made of choux pastry unlike the Italian style which is commonly made of potatoes and flour. The dumplings are light and soft so much so you don’t feel that you’ve eaten much even after finishing a big plate of this. I followed Tante Leo’s style from the recipe and beat one egg white separately before folding into the dough. The dough was scooped out using a teaspoon and it took about half an hour for me to cook the entire batch. For the cheese topping, I used a combination of Gruyère and old Cheddar for more colour and flavour. I’m not sure if the Béchamel sauce is supposed to turn out smooth and easy to pour but mine didn’t. It was thick and slightly lumpy but I was able to spread a layer on the bottom of the pan and also spread the rest of it over the gnocchi.

If not for Dorie making a comparison to macaroni and cheese, I wouldn’t have any idea how this dish would taste like as I’ve never had gnocchi before. It is like a pasta and cheese dish except the ‘pasta’ here is soft, boiled cream puffs. I love the cheesy crust on top but I do feel this dish would be even better with some bacon in it. ;-) I saved some for my Italian neighbour and she enjoyed it too.

Making gnocchi is another first for me, I love this cooking club for making me giving me the opportunity to cook new types of food!

French Fridays with Dorie is back to its usual format of every member cooking the same dish each week. Click here to look at the Gnocchi a ala Parisienne other members made.

Next week’s recipe: Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake (Yippee, dessert!!)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Gnocchi a la Parisienne

  1. yummychunklet

    January 14, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Your dish looks delicious! I’m on my lunch break, and I want a bite of your dish! Great post!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 14, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      Thanks! Yours turn out looking like mine so we must be making it right.. or not! :)

       
  2. kitchen flavours

    January 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Looks stunning and delicious! You know, I have never tried Gruyere cheese before, it is very expensive! I guess over there, cheese is rather common and can be easily obtained anywhere! So jealous!! ^..^

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 16, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      Thanks! I’ve never tried Gruyere till now too, cheese was never a big part of our diet. I think I paid $5 for 150g of Gruyere, not cheap!

       
  3. Cakelaw

    January 16, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    Looks great! I enjoyed this way more than I thought – I think it’s better than potato gnocchi as it is less heavy.

     
  4. beth@thescreenporch

    January 16, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I love being exposed to recipes that I wouldn’t normally cook. Yours looks great. I’m glad you enjoyed it. The best thing about gnocchi is to freeze half and them

    then you have a meal with very little work. B:)

     
  5. Teresa

    January 19, 2011 at 3:20 am

    Your finished dish looks wonderful. I love how often these recipes give me an excuse to buy Gruyère.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

