RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake

22 Jan

I was hesitating about posting this week’s French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) recipe because it didn’t turn out well for me. It tasted great, the double chocolate mousse cake – chocolatey and luscious – but didn’t look so pretty. The top lifted up and cracked. I’m not sure what caused that to happen but I know I had over beaten the egg whites. It broke up into lumps when I folded it into the chocolate batter.

This mousse cake was made in four stages. First, one third of the mousse was baked as the base and chilled. Second, the remainder of the mousse mixture is scraped over the base and chilled again. The cake can be served at this stage after refrigeration. Third, the cake is baked again until the top is puffed. The cake can also be served at this stage. Fourth, the cake is cooled to room temperature after baking and chilled again. Dorie said each layer has a different texture but I really couldn’t taste it. I could only taste two textures – the thin, soft layer that has lifted off the cake, and the soft and velvety mousse base.

This cake deserves a second try but I didn’t have the time this week to do it. I’m also afraid of failing again! Anyway, have a look at the successful versions of this cake baked by other FFWD members here.

Next week’s recipe: Chicken B’stilla

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2011 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. yummychunklet

    January 22, 2011 at 3:59 am

    I like the way the top lifted off! It actually accentuates the velvety looking mixture just beneath.

     
    • yummychunklet

      January 26, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Hello, again! Your blog is simply amazing, and I’ve awarded you a “Stylish Blogger Award” via my blog. Congrats!

       
      • Ker-Yng

        January 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

        Oh, thank you! This is new to me too so I shall be following your example on how to receive this award.

         
  2. kitchen flavours

    January 22, 2011 at 8:48 am

    As long as it tastes great, sometimes the look don’t matter much! This mousse cake sure takes a lot of effort and patience. I’m not sure that I would have done it right too, I too have my fair share of overbeating the egg whites sometimes. Very frustating, cannot be undone! Try it again when you feel like having a chocolate dessert next time. But it looks really good. Very chocolaty and moist, I don’t mind having a slice of this anytime!

     
  3. vanillastrawberryspringfields

    January 22, 2011 at 11:32 am

    The first thing i thought when i saw the cake was , Oh my , this is a pretty cake , i loveee the cracks and wanted more myself !
    And yeah this one sure is tasty and m gng to bake it again myself!

    http://brightmorningstarsfoodie.blogspot.com/

     
  4. vanillastrawberryspringfields

    January 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I also have an earnest request to ya :-))

    My blog has been nominated for best if Indian Food blog awards and is the only goans food blog:-))
    there is a poll , right on FB

    http://poll.fm/f/2mwyb

    And u can also vote for me here at my site

    Im 4th from Below or number 14 , Bright Morning Star! —http://brightmorningstarsfoodie.blogspot.com/

     
  5. Teresa

    January 22, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you. I actually love the way it looks in your picture, though – it seems like something you’d get at a good restaurant.

     
  6. pragmaticattic

    January 22, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    That is exactly the result that I got!!!! A thin crackly layer on top and the rest was just one texture. My cake looks just like yours. Everyone raved over the cake, but I was kind of frustrated. I don’t understand how everyone else seems to have gotten the double texture effect. I might have overbeaten the whites, too. Could that be it?

     
  7. Ker-Yng

    January 22, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    @ yummychunklet: I didn’t mind it that much but I just couldn’t help comparing it to the picture in the book and cringing! :)

    @ kitchen flavours: Thanks, Joyce. You’re very encouraging!

    @ vanillastrawberryspringfields: Thanks for your comments. I’ll go check out your poll.

    @ Theresa: Thanks for the compliment!!

    @ pragmaticattic: Yes, I’m not alone! Guess we just got to try making it again! :)

     
  8. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    January 26, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    I think it’s pretty! I didn’t even get the chance to make this one. Yours looks so good- I don’t think the thin layer on top detracts from it a bit! I think we’re our own worst critics sometime. :)

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

