RSS

I Can Skate!

27 Jan

After 4 winters here, I’ve finally got the time to look into ice-skating. I had wanted to do it last year as I live in a ‘hockey town’ with 2 skating arenas. Big Kid’s school takes them skating for a couple of weeks every winter as part of their physical education programme too. We bought him skates and a helmet and even took him for lessons so he would know how to skate. As I watched him and his schoolmates skate last year, I thought it would be fun but I couldn’t find a right pair of skates. This year I found a comfortable pair that fits well and one that wasn’t too expensive. One of the skating arenas offers free adult skating every Thursdays from 1pm to 2pm which is perfect as both boys are in school that time.

Together with my friend, Maria, who has always been asking me to skate, I went last week feeling nervous and excited. I had my snow pants on thinking I’m going to fall and it will shield my pants from being wet. I also put on my waterproof gloves. When I got to the rink, there were about 10 adults there already, all seniors, and they were whizzing around the rink fast! I got hold of a learning frame, which the little kids use when they’re learning how to skate, and got on the ice with it with my thickest face. Maria kept telling the seniors who were around us, “She’s new.” As if it wasn’t obvious! A lady, Connie, whom Maria knows skated over and Maria asked if she has any pointers for me. “Lose the frame,” she said, “you’re not going to learn how to skate with it.” So I listened to her and attempted to skate. Amazingly, Surprisingly, I found it easy to hold my balance. Before long I was skating!

Connie (pictured on left) was surprised and asked if it was really my first time on the ice. When I told her it was she asked if I used to play sports. Well, yeah, but only because it was compulsory in high school to play a sport. I attribute my ability to skate on the first try to my experience on roller skates when I was young. We didn’t skate a lot but I remember going to the roller skating park some times with my sisters. Thanks, Dad, for bringing us there and for the roller skates!

So another thing on my bucket list to check off. Well done, if I may say so myself! ;-)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “I Can Skate!

  1. yummychunklet

    January 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Congrats! It’s always great to try new things and actually enjoy the experience!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 27, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks!! It’s a form of exercise I enjoy!

       
  2. kitchen flavours

    January 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Good for you! Great to know that you have a hidden talent that has been ‘unleashed’! I always like to watch others skate, but cannot imagine myself doing that! Looks like now, you will have something extra to look forward to. It is a great form of exercise and fun too. Enjoy yourself! ^..^

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 27, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks, Joyce. Even when ice skating was first introduced at Sunway Pyramid I had wanted to try it so I’m really glad I’m doing it now. :)

       
  3. Mary

    January 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Congratulations! I guess we are never too old to learn. It sounds like you had a great time as well. I’m new to your blog and spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

     
    • Ker-Yng

      January 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

      Thanks for visiting, Mary, and for your lovely comment. I hope you’ll have a great weekend ahead.

       
  4. Mary

    February 2, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I am so happy that I am taking the students skating tomorrow, and after school I can skate home on the canal. You must come to Ottawa and try it!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      That is so cool, skating home on the canal! We were nearly going to the Ottawa Winterlude this weekend but there was a change in plans, sigh!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

