RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Basque Mushroom Tortilla

04 Feb

This week’s FFwD recipe is an egg omelet from the region of Basque in France. The ‘original’ recipe is a potato tortilla but I chose one of the variations offered by Dorie and made a mushroom version.

Half a pound of Baby Bella or cremini mushrooms were cooked with spring onion and garlic with the addition of chopped parsley, thyme and rosemary. The mushrooms were then stir into nine beaten eggs for the omelet. The omelet mixture is first cooked in a skillet before going under a broiler for a minute to finish. The result was a delicious omelet. The herbs complemented the mushroom very nicely and the omelet wasn’t dry. I found it needed a little something though and some Frank’s RedHot sauce took care of that. :) This was supposed to make 4 lunch main-course servings but it was gone quickly between 3 adults. Maybe it would have fed four if I had served a salad too.

This was a simple and quick dish to make. From start to end I took about 50 minutes. I might try the ham, egg and potato version next time. I cooked the omelet in my stainless steel 10-inch skillet and it turned out on the flat side, not even an inch high. One tip about handling a skillet that has been in the oven – don’t put your oven mitt away after you used it to remove the skillet from the oven. Instead, put it over the skillet handle i.e. insert the handle into the mitt, and leave it there. That will prevent a nasty burn and shock when you grab the hot handle by mistake – like what happened to me a few times when I wanted to move the skillet away!

Click here to look at the tortilla other French Fridays with Dorie members made. Next week’s recipe is an Orange-Almond Tart.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2011 in Cooking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Basque Mushroom Tortilla

  1. yummychunklet

    February 4, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I LOVE the look of your tortilla! The flat chopped mushrooms look so cute! I went a little chop-crazy and kept chopping the mushrooms into bits. Great post!

     
  2. Jessica of My Baking Heart

    February 4, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Oh my goodness. This looks amazing! I didn’t have any mushrooms in the fridge and we’re iced in here, so I wasn’t able to get to the store for any extras. I love mushrooms, though, so I know yours was fantastic! :) Love your photos, too!

     
  3. Domestic Goddess Wannabe

    February 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Divine! There are so many mushrooms that you can choose too which all taste so different. Delicious.

     
  4. Teresa

    February 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Your mushroom version looks beautiful! I couldn’t resist putting a few creminis into my potato version. Good advice about the skillet handle, too!

     
  5. Cher

    February 6, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Very nice. I love the mushroom version and wish I tried it that way.
    Nice pictures!

     
  6. Mary

    February 6, 2011 at 11:38 am

    What a gorgeous looking tortilla. I’m new to your blog and have just spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. Everything you have done here is really wonderful. I love the food and recipes you’ve featured and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

     
  7. Flourchild

    February 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    This looks amazing! We gobbled it up in no time flat!

     
  8. kitchen flavours

    February 7, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Wow, this looks wonderful. I would go for mushrooms too, as it is a favourite in my house! Great tip on the oven glove over the skillet handle. Ouch!

     
  9. kitchen flavours

    February 7, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Gong Xi Fa Cai to you and your family!

     
  10. Jen

    February 9, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Hearty and elegance all in the same dish. This is what I want when I’m hungry!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

