RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Orange-Almond Tart

10 Feb

IMG_5438 (600x400)

This week’s FFwD recipe, the Orange-Almond Tart, received only a fair review. Tasters found it too sweet, the crust especially. This tart uses Dorie’s Sweet Tart Dough which has half a cup of confectioners’ sugar in it compared to a teaspoon of sugar in the regular tart dough. Apart from it being sweet, I like this tart dough for its buttery, shortbread-ish texture. It comes together easily in a food processor and it can be pressed into the tart pan or rolled out. I chose to press it in so I don’t have to deal with the rolling!

The almond cream filling wasn’t too bad and the two teaspoons of dark rum in it gave it a slight ‘adult’ taste. One interesting step in this recipe is the cut orange segments have to be dried out in between layers of paper towels before being used. (I found that a waste of lovely Sunkist navel oranges!) Contrary to what Dorie said, this did not enhance the flavour of the oranges, which were sweet and juicy when they were fresh, but rather, they lost some flavour after being baked. I also thought some pieces tasted a little bitter. Hmm…?

IMG_5470 (600x400)

The crust, which was first blind baked, turned too brown after the final baking. Overall, I found this a nice fancy dessert which I would serve at dinner parties. I would reduce the amount of sugar though and cover up the edges of the crust with foil halfway through baking.

One nice thing that happened in the course of making this dessert is I ‘reconnected’ with my old food processor. My 6-cups Kenwood FP110, which I brought over from Malaysia, had been stored away in my basement even since I moved into this house. I had forgotten about it and even contemplated buying a new food processor but the ones here are clunky and expensive. My Kenwood has steel blades, is compact and not too heavy – almost perfect except for the fact that it doesn’t work on the voltage here. Nothing a converter can’t fix though. Smile

Click here to look at the tarts other French Fridays with Dorie members made.

Next week’s recipe is Pancetta Green Beans.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2011 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Orange-Almond Tart

  1. yummychunklet

    February 11, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Interesting that your orange didn’t have an enhanced flavor…the Mandarin oranges stood out more than I thought they would against the sweet almond cream. Yours turned out so pretty!

     
  2. kitchen flavours

    February 11, 2011 at 10:05 am

    If the recipe is the same one in her book BFMHTY, then yes, I do agree with you that the dough is too sweet. The first time when I made the crust, I reduced the sugar, but when I made it again for my sis a couple of months later, I followed the original, and it turned out so sweet! Overall, this is a great crust, minus the sugar, even better! I’m unsure of what to do with the extra crust in my freezer (the sweet one!). I’m using a Kenwood mixer too. Bought it three years ago and that is a smart move! LOL!
    Your orange almond tart looks fabulous!

     
  3. Monica

    February 11, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Oh, yours is really pretty, it could be the picture from the book!

     
  4. Cher

    February 11, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Very lovely – wish you could have enjoyed it more for all your work. I agree — would cover the edges of the tart with foil to keep it a little less browned on a re-do & aren’t food processors just the best?

     
  5. Liz

    February 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    We enjoyed it with pears…as I wasn’t sure if I’d like it with oranges. My crust was a bit dark, but I enjoyed the sweetness. Your tart looks lovely~

     
  6. Lola's Kitchen

    February 11, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Maybe its a good thing I forgot to part bake my crust. Several people have mentioned their crust over-browning. Yours look delicious!

     
  7. ComeUndone

    February 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Your photos look great. Too bad the taste didn’t live up to expectations.

     
  8. Elaine

    February 11, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I used mandarin oranges for some of my tarts and we really like the sweet tanginess of the slices. I’m sorry that the tart didn’t meet your expectations, but sometimes that happens. How fun that you were able to reconnect with a favorite baking tool. :)

     
  9. Ker-Yng

    February 11, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Thanks everyone for your compliments. I’m glad we all found this to be a nice dessert. Onwards to the next recipe!

     
  10. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)

    February 12, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I was a bit confused at the intense flavor the oranges were supposed to have after drying too. Mine didn’t seem to have that. Maybe I didn’t leave them dry long enough? Oh well, no worries. Your tart looks fantastic! Like it could be on a cover of a magazine or something!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 12, 2011 at 10:13 am

      Thanks. :) I left my oranges to dry overnight in the refrigerator.

       
  11. Tricia

    February 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Good for you for keeping it real. I had a few French Fridays where my photos looked fab and the reviews from everyone else raved about the dishes…but they just didn’t work for us. Honest opinions are so important. Great post and photos !

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks, Tricia. It could very well be a case of one man’s meat being another man’s poison. :)

       
  12. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    February 13, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    We’re trying to cut down on sweets at my house, so I didn’t participate this week. Your tart is really pretty even if it wasn’t your favorite. :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 13, 2011 at 11:10 pm

      I admire your perseverance! :)

       
  13. Lana

    February 15, 2011 at 1:18 am

    I love your photos! The tart does look so elegant and classy with the dusting of powder sugar…
    My crust was darker, also, but tasted good. We broke pieces off (later in the day) and ate the like cookies. I agree about covering it with the foil during baking.
    I did not mind the sweet touch of the crust, but I added somewhat less sugar to the cream.
    I used blood oranges which were smaller than “regular” ones, and segmenting them was a bit fussy, but it looked wonderful:)
    All in all, I liket it enough to make it again.

     
  14. Teresa

    February 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    I ended up liking this a lot more after it had been in the refrigerator for a day. The crust improved and wasn’t as crumbly as when it was first baked.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

