RSS

Carrot Cake

21 Feb

Carrot cake 1

It’s been so long since I’ve baked on a weekend. I had time yesterday and really wanted to bake but couldn’t decide on what to bake. So I opened the question to the family. Hubby said, “Marble Cake” and Little Guy said, “Carrot Cake.” I chose Carrot Cake for I have a good one in my notebook of handwritten recipes that is quick and easy to make. As an aside, if I were to make a digital copy of this recipe in the future I still won’t discard this page. Big Kid scribbled on it when he was 3 or 4 and it’s a sentimental reminder to me of the time when he was a cute little preschooler just discovering a pen. Smile

Carrot Cake-recipe

CARROT CAKE

A.
300g grated carrots
250g flour
100g castor sugar
50g light brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
1 teaspoon Allspice

B.
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup (240ml) vegetable oil

C.
120g chopped nuts, toasted (walnuts or pecans)
120g dried fruit (dates or raisins)

Cream Cheese Frosting
250g cream cheese, softened
60g butter, softened
160g castor sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)

1. Line a 8″ square cake pan with parchment paper and preheat oven to 350 degrees F / 175 degrees C.
2. Combine A in a medium bowl with a fork, making sure the carrots are not in clumps.
3. Combine B in a small bowl and, using a spatula, mix it into the dry ingredients (A).
4. Stir in C.
5. Scrape batter into pan and bake for an hour. Let the cake cool completely before frosting.
6. To make the frosting, cream the ingredients in a bowl with an electric mixer until the frosting is fluffy and smooth.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Baking, Food

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Carrot Cake

  1. kitchen flavours

    February 22, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Your carrot cake looks so goooood…! It has been awhile since I last baked a carrot cake. I like that your recipe does not use much sugar, I think that the sweetness is just right! I have my personal ‘rule’ that the weight of sugar should never be the same or exceed as that of the flour. Most western cakes recipe books are loaded with high content of sugar, I always reduce them! We are eating cakes, not sugar! Maybe they consider the science factor behind the recipes, like the ratios of sugar to fat and etc, but most of the time, by reducing the sugar, the recipes works extremely well too! Maybe it’s just me! :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 22, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Thanks! I got this recipe from my mum and not a Western cookbook so that’s probably why the sugar amount is not high. ;-) I think my tolerance of sugar has increased since coming here though. Now my husband will say it’s too sweet and I’ll think it’s ok! :-0

       
  2. yummychunklet

    February 22, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    That is precious! My baby nieces already discovered pens and “colored” my couch slip cover the last time they were here! And, thanks for the recipe. I love carrot cake!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 22, 2011 at 6:37 pm

      Oh dear, too bad pens don’t come in ‘washables’!

       
  3. Mary

    February 22, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Carrot cake is always a great choice and yours looks delicious. I like the hand-written recipe–you have very neat writing! My mother still has her handwritten recipes with my scribbles all over them. :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 22, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      That is sweet!

       
  4. Teresa

    February 26, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Love the scribbles! Carrot cake is one of my mother’s specialties – it’s so good with cream cheese icing.

     
  5. Monica

    June 10, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Your carrot cake looks delectable! I havn’t made carrot cake in ages, I must make it again soon!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

