RSS

Chinese Omelette – Egg Fu Yung

09 Mar

Before I tell you about Egg Fu Yung, I have a story with a – ahem – moral lesson to share. Dinner prep started late today, fortunately I had planned to make simple dishes. So there I was busy at the stove, handling more than one thing at a time and feeling quite proud that I could put food together so fast. I was frying some enoki mushroom pancakes and also started filling a pot with water for the vegetables. I went back to to tend to the pancakes and promptly forgot about the pot. Then there was a sound of water… the pot was on the countertop and water was overflowing on to the countertop and down to the floor, yikes! I yelled for hubby, who happened to be home early that day, for help. If not for him, that accident would have set me back 15 minutes and all the quick prepping and cooking would have been for nought. “Pride comes before a fall” leaped to my mind!

IMG_5709 (600x400)

Back to the Egg Fu Yung, it is a Chinese omelette that has a filling of meat and/or seafood and vegetables. I only came to know of this dish when I was in my late teens when my dad would order it at Chinese restaurants. So now this dish reminds me of him! Smile

Egg Fu Fung is usually deep fried in restaurants but I did a pan-fry version at home. It is savoury and tasty with the BBQ pork and shrimp while the onions lend a sweet crunch.

IMG_5720 (600x400)Egg Fu Yung
(Adapted from Hawkers’ Fair Simplified)

4 eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons chopped BBQ pork
50g shelled shrimps, chopped (about 4 medium)
1 small carrot, shredded
1 small onion, sliced
1 green onion, chopped
1 tablespoon chopped red chilli (optional)
1 tablespoon oil

Seasoning:
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
Dash of white pepper
Pinch of chicken stock granules (optional)

1. Combine all ingredients and seasoning in a medium bowl and mix well.
2. Heat oil in pan or wok, pour in the mixture and cook over low heat until the egg is set. Turn it over and continue to cook until the bottom is golden brown. Dish up and serve.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2011 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Chinese Omelette – Egg Fu Yung

  1. yummychunklet

    March 9, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    This dish reminds me of when my mother used to take me out to eat at Chinese restaurants in Memphis! Memories! I may make a shrimp version this weekend!

     
  2. pangjoel

    March 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

    It sure looks like the one I ordered at the chinese restaurants. This tastes better i suppose.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 10, 2011 at 8:07 pm

      Ha ha, I don’t know about that but thanks!

       
  3. Domestic Goddess Wannabe

    March 10, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Eek – that sounds like one of my kitchen disasters! It all turned out good in the end though. Have never tried a chinese Omelette but you have sold it to me!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 10, 2011 at 8:10 pm

      I hope you and your family will like it! :)

       
  4. kitchen flavours

    March 11, 2011 at 1:57 am

    I can picture how the hot water flows down to the floor, it happens to me once, and it was soup, so the floor is not only wet but oily too! And I have to clean it myself! Once bitten, twice shy, after that! :)
    Your egg fu yung looks good. It is always a favourite among the kids and adults too, whenever we are out at the restaurant! My kids can just have their rice with this one dish!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 11, 2011 at 8:45 am

      Fortunately for me it was only tap water that I was filling the pot with. :) Thanks, my kids liked the omelette too!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

