RSS

Casserole Night and Marble Cake

11 Mar

Sometimes when Friday rolls around, I’ll have renewed energy. Maybe it’s the thought of it being the last day of the week before the weekend! So today I made a casserole for dinner and baked a cake, that’s me being energetic. Winking smile They both need an oven temperature of 350F so I put one in after another.

IMG_5732 (600x400)

IMG_5784 (600x408)

The casserole was from a food magazine I picked up last Sunday. It was Baked Risotto with Sausage and Artichokes (I left out the artichokes) and got a “Best casserole ever!” comment from picky Big Kid. It truly was very delicious. The risotto was creamy and tasty and the flavours of the Italian sausage, fennel and thyme so good!

The marble cake is a new recipe for me and after trying it, I’m making it my favourite marble cake recipe! I used to favour Donna Hay’s recipe but after a while I found it too ‘milky’. Dorie Greenspan’s recipe was alright but not fantastic. This one from Sarabeth, however, is a delight! It has a nice crust, moist inside, not too buttery, and the chocolate batter has a touch of almond flavour. If you like marble cakes, you got to try this one. I’m thinking here of my mum, my sisters and my cousins (SM H and SY H)! Thanks to Kitchen Flavours for posting this recipe.

Baked Risotto with Sausage and Artichokes
From Better Homes and Gardens Ultimate Casseroles 2011

IMG_5766 (600x400)

1 pound bulk Italian sausage
1 cup chopped fennel (1 medium bulb)
1 cup chopped onion (1 large)
2 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup arborio rice or long grain rice
2 9-oz packages frozen artichoke hearts, thawed, drained and halved (I left this out)
1 cup coarsely shredded carrots (2 medium)
2 teaspoons snipped fresh thyme or 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, crushed 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 cups chicken broth
1/3 cup dry white wine or chicken broth (I used broth)
1/2 cup panko or soft bread crumbs
1/4 cup finely shredded Asiago cheese or Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon finely shredded lemon peel
Parmesan cheese shards (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350F. In a 12-inch skillet combine sausage, fennel, onion and garlic; cook over medium-high heat until meat is browned and vegetables are tender, using a wooden spoon to break up meat as it cooks. Drain off fat. Add uncooked rice to meat mixture in skillet; cook and stir for 1 minute more.

2. Add artichoke hearts, carrots, thyme and pepper. Stir in broth and wine. Bring just to boiling. Transfer to an ungreased 2-1/2 quart casserole. Bake, covered, about 1 hour or until rice is tender, stirring once. (I forgot to stir and it was fine. I stirred only at the end of the hour.)

3. Meanwhile, in a small bowl combine panko, Asiago cheese, butter and lemon peel. Top casserole with crumb mixture. Bake uncovered, for 10 minutes more. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving. Spoon into individual bowls. If desired, garnish each serving with Parmesan cheese shards. Makes 6 to 8 servings. (My family of 2 + 2 finished it up!)

Marble Cake

IMG_5797 (600x400)

Full recipe here: http://goddessofbakedom.com/sb/sarabeth/2011/01/welcome-back-marble-cake.html

(Note: I used only 1 cup + 3 tablespoons of sugar)

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Baking, Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Casserole Night and Marble Cake

  1. yummychunklet

    March 11, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Both dishes look great, but that marble cake makes me want a piece right now!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 12, 2011 at 12:24 am

      Heh heh, thanks!

       
  2. Cher

    March 12, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Wow – both of those look really great!
    I hear you on that Friday night burst of energy. Must be that extra hour of sleep we know we can get Saturday morning!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

      Thanks Cher, but alas, a wrong number woke me up at 7 this morning!!

       
  3. Mary

    March 12, 2011 at 9:48 am

    They both sound great–I love fennel in just about anything. That marble cake is beautiful. That was the first cake I ever made all by myself, so it makes me feel nostalgic. :)

     
  4. kitchen flavours

    March 12, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Your casserole risotto looks really good. Have never tried making one before!
    You like the marble cake too? It is good, isn’t it. I reduced the sugar too! He! He! Thanks for the mention.
    Hope you have a good Sunday tomorrow. :)

     
  5. Anne-Marie

    March 12, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog for FFwD! I hope to see one of your beautiful dishes soon! Your cake looks really moist and tasty.

     
  6. Ker-Yng

    March 12, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    @ Mary: Thanks. I think a marble cake was one of my first cakes too!

    @ Joyce: It’s now my favourite marble cake! Do try the casserole, it’s like a Western version of ‘fragrant rice’. :)

    @ Anne-Marie: You’re welcome. I’m glad I found your blog!

     
  7. Joyti

    March 16, 2011 at 3:04 am

    Its so cold here at the moment that I’d love to leave my oven on while making dinner and a cake.
    The casserole and the cake sound good. I love the marbled look of the cake – yum!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

