RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Salted Butter Break-Ups

18 Mar

I’m back to French Fridays this week with a cookie. It is, in Dorie’s words, “essentially a large, buttery, flaky, salty-sweet rectangular cookie.” Sel gris or French grey sea salt is what you use for the cookie’s saltiness but I didn’t have any and used kosher salt instead. I pulsed the flour, sugar, salt and butter in the food processor and added 4 tablespoons of cold water to make it combine. I refrigerated the dough for just an hour and baked it for 35 mins.

Although this recipe is in the Dessert section of Around My French Table I didn’t serve it as a dessert. I had put it in the oven before our friends arrived for dinner and it was ready just before we were to sit. It was smelling so buttery and good that I brought it to the table and intentionally left it in one piece, as how it is meant to be served, so we could have fun breaking it up. The cookie drew comments like “Mmm..,” “Buttery..” and “Rich…” I found it like a sweet, buttery shortbread cookie. It was unanimous that it was not something to eat before the meal! I left it at the table though and we munched on it after we finished eating.

Breaking cookie at the table:

IMG_5815 (600x400)

 
19 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , ,

19 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Salted Butter Break-Ups

  1. kitchen flavours

    March 18, 2011 at 1:26 am

    This sounds like a fun way of eating cookies! I bet the whole family will enjoy it, especially the kids..! :)

     
  2. babe_kl

    March 18, 2011 at 4:53 am

    sounds like really fun to share by breaking up your own pieces

     
  3. Stephirey

    March 18, 2011 at 11:36 am

    You were just like me. I served it as an appetizer because for some reason I had it in my head that it was a cracker. It was great with brie. Love the hand picture! So fun.

     
  4. Jessica of My Baking Heart

    March 18, 2011 at 11:46 am

    How fun! Love your photos! :)

     
  5. yummychunklet

    March 18, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Your cookie turned out great! And what a pleasant pre dinner snack. Great idea!

     
  6. Cher

    March 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Love the hand shots! It was fun to watch people dig in…

     
  7. Tia

    March 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    great pics of the interactive fun!!! I’m still playing catchup, so I made the bread this week :)

     
  8. ComeUndone

    March 18, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    When you leave a freshly baked cookie in a group of hungry eaters, I wouldn’t expect anything less. :D

     
  9. Elaine

    March 18, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    They probably didn’t have room for dinner after munching on these. :) Yours looks perfectly golden. My family couldn’t stop eating them either.

     
  10. gaaarp

    March 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Looks great! You did a better job with the criss-cross pattern than I did. It was still delicious.

     
  11. betsy

    March 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Loved your picture of everyone breaking up the cookie. Yummy!

     
  12. Lana

    March 18, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Love the photos of the breaking process:) We ate the cookie before dinner and after dinner, so it served a dual purpose:)

     
  13. Ker-Yng

    March 18, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks all for leaving your comments!

    To my fellow FFWD bakers, I enjoyed reading your posts and looking at your cookies too. It was a good one this week, hoping next week’s scallops will turn out well too!!

     
  14. Adriana

    March 19, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Hee! I made my cookies around the same time I made dinner (cookies first because they took longer) and while my fish cooked in the oven, I couldn’t help myself to a few… to several… to enough pieces.

     
  15. Candy

    March 19, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I loved that you served it following Dorie’s suggestion. I think the novelty of this cookie was the best part of this cookie. Looks beautiful!

     
  16. Tricia

    March 19, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Your break ups look great but I really enjoyed the “action shots” you shared. It made me relive the process of my family waiting for it to come out of the oven, cool just enough and then dig in. With the lovely aroma, I felt like I should be telling them “ready….set…..go”. Good times on a Friday :)

     
  17. Mary

    March 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    This really does sound good and it looks perfect to serve with ice cream.. I love your blog. This was my first visit but I plan to return often. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

     
  18. Domestic Goddess Wannabe

    March 21, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I like the idea of a huge cookie to share, although I bet I could just as easily eat it all myself!

     
  19. Anne-Marie

    March 22, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    you made a beautiful cookie! And you’re right, it should definitely be eaten after a meal, not before.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

