RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Scallops with Caramel-Orange Sauce

25 Mar

Scallops – Eat them? Yes. Like them? Yes? Cooked them? No. And so it was with mild trepidation that I approached this week’s FFWD recipe. After all, scallops were the food that most often got the chefs in Hell’s Kitchen in trouble with Gordon Ramsay when they either undercooked or overcooked them! “They’re raw! RAW!” “They’re burnt!” If these chefs had so much trouble with scallops, would I fare better?

Finding the right scallops was also an activity. I went to four stores before finding scallops suitable for pan-searing. The first store I went to had fresh ones but they were Bay scallops. The frozen variety in that store and the next two were small ones, 60/80 in a pound. The last store had only frozen ones too but at least they were “30/40”. Got a bottle of unoaked chardonnay from the wine rack on my way out and I was all set.

Making the sauce was fairly simple. Caramelise 2 tablespoons of sugar and add freshly squeezed orange juice and white wine to it. Reduce the sauce and stir in pieces of butter as the last step.

Searing the scallops was not so simple and no, I did not fare better than the Hell’s Kitchen contestants. Smile I think my pan and oil were not hot enough as the scallops stuck as soon as I put them in. I had to scrape them off the pan to flip them and they stuck on the other side too. I cooked them about 2 minutes a side till the centre was barely opaque. Hubby liked them firmer so he didn’t mind if I seared them longer till they were browned. He likes his scallops overcooked!

IMG_5971 (600x400)

I liked the scallops with the caramel-orange sauce. Hubby felt the sauce was too sour but liked the scallops anyway. I probably won’t cook this dish again unless I come across bigger scallops as the “30/40” ones are too small after cooking.

IMG_5961 (600x400)

Head on over to French Fridays with Dorie to see how the others fared with this scallop dish!

 
 

Tags: , ,

19 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Scallops with Caramel-Orange Sauce

  1. yummychunklet

    March 25, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Your scallops still turned out great! I had to use frozen scallops as well.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 25, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      You’re too kind! :)

       
  2. Waverly

    March 25, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I used frozen scallops as well – they did stick but that is how you get those delicious browned bits in your pan that flavor the sauce. You scallops certainly LOOK delicious!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 25, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      Thanks but I made the sauce earlier so those brown bits in the pan went to waste!

       
  3. RSA Certificate

    March 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I admit I’ve held off cooking scallops because I KNOW the little Gordon Ramsey in my head would yell at me :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      But you’ve got to overcome that little man and just do it! ;-)

       
  4. ComeUndone

    March 25, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Searing scallops definitely requires a bit of skills. Great learning experience!

     
  5. Adriana

    March 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I don’t watch Hell’s Kitchen (not a fan of Ramsay’s) but I get that scallops can be intimidating. Once I placed them in the pan, I moved them quickly for ten seconds and then left them alone for the remainder of the two minutes. That usually stops them from sticking to the pan. I loved the browned bits myself, but get that they would look better attached to the scallop.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 25, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      Thanks for the tip! Your scallops are beautifully seared and look incredibly delicious on your plate of sprouts!

       
  6. Cher

    March 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Too funny – I can hear Gordon say “Skol-lops” in my head…
    They look lovely – I wouldn’t have made you turn in your chef’s coat…

     
  7. kitchen flavours

    March 26, 2011 at 4:24 am

    Never cooked scallops before! Love to eat them though! Terribly expensive over here…your scallops looks yummy and “caramel-ly” brown! Orange sauce with scallops sounds really good… mmm! :)

     
    • Ker-Yng

      March 26, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks, I like them too. It’s also expensive here, I bought these for $12 a pound.

       
  8. betsy

    March 26, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I’d never seared sea scallops before. It was a little nerve-wracking, but I loved how they came out. The sauce I didn’t like that much, but it was a success anyway because now I know how to sear sea scallops. Yours look lovely.

     
  9. Tricia S.

    March 26, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    My hubby found the sea scallops and they were lovely. Huge and tender, but very very expensive. At least we ended up really liking this recipe…which had honestly scared me when I first read about it. As usual, I ended up liking something that I never would have otherwise cooked at home. Yay !

     
  10. Trevor Sis Boom

    March 26, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I think they look great!

     
  11. Teresa

    March 27, 2011 at 1:20 am

    They turned out beautifully, even if they stuck to the pan. Mine stuck a little and seared a bit dark, as well, but we really loved the flavour – especially with the sauce.

     
  12. Yuri

    March 28, 2011 at 1:53 am

    I think its funny how this recipe made a lot of you think about Hell’s Kitchen. I really can’t stand watching Ramsay yell to those poor cooks but I can imagine him going crazy over wrongly cooked scallops :p

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

