RSS

FFWD: Garlicky Crumb-Coated Broccoli

09 Apr

IMG_4881 (600x400)

I made this awhile ago but I had notes written in my Around my French Fridays cookbook. The broccoli was first steamed, seasoned and set aside. The crumb coating was then made in a skillet – butter, garlic, bread crumbs and lemon zest. I didn’t have any fresh mint or parsley to add on so I left it out. While the crumb coating is nice, I felt this was only a mediocre way of dressing up broccoli. It would have been nicer if the broccoli wasn’t cold. Tossing the broccoli with the crumbs in the skillet wasn’t enough to warm up the broccoli that had gone cold while sitting. The crumbs didn’t stick well to the broccoli too and most of it end up at the bottom of the plate. I also felt the dish was a little dry but that could be due to me not using the full 4 tablespoons of butter for the crumb coating!

Check out how other FFWD members did with this dish, click here.

 
 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “FFWD: Garlicky Crumb-Coated Broccoli

  1. Teresa

    April 9, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I’m sorry you didn’t like it much – it looks good, though. You’ll have to stick to shallot oil and soy sauce. It sounds like a winning combination.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      April 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      Thanks. You should try the shallot oil or sesame oil and soy sauce combo over broccoli one day. :)

       
  2. yummychunklet

    April 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Aw! Sorry this wasn’t a hit with you. I think I had a similar problem with the coating not sticking because I used a margarine and butter mix to cut down on the fat. I also stayed at the same 4 tablespoons called for by the recipe but my bag of frozen broccoli might have had more than the recipe required. Great photo!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      April 9, 2011 at 10:09 pm

      Thanks and I’m glad my not-sticking problem was not unique. :)

       
  3. Tricia S.

    April 9, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    I was desperately running behind this week (buying broccoli on the way home from work Friday night :) and did not tweak the recipe at all. Did not have time to :) So I used all the butter and it did help it all stick. Not dry at all – my family went bananas and I was so glad I got the recipe in. Nana made hers early and it was a big hit at her house as well. Good for you for making the deadline !

     
    • Ker-Yng

      April 9, 2011 at 11:53 pm

      I thought it could be the butter but 4 tablespoons for just a pound of broccoli! Ah, will just cut the fat from somewhere else. :) Thanks for leaving a comment!

       
  4. Yuri

    April 9, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    I ate this cold from the fridge, and my crumbs didn’t stick much to the florets. I thought it was because I used nut-crumbs instead of breadcrumbs but apparently a lot of us had this same problem. I liked the flavors in this dish but I still prefer my broccoli plain with a little lime juice [and cold from the fridge] :)

     
  5. kitchen flavours

    April 10, 2011 at 1:31 am

    This is certainly an interesting way of preparing broccoli. It does sound really good with all the ingredients!

     
  6. Cher

    April 10, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Sorry this wasn’t a huge hit for you. Your picture was nice, though!

     
  7. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    April 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    This looks good even though it wasn’t your favorite. I know exactly what you mean about the butter- I have a tendency to cut back on it as well. I need to start back up with FFwD again- I feel like I’m missing out on a lot of good recipes!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

