RSS

JFR’s Spaghetti Bolognese

03 Jun

After more than a month of not having pasta, my boys asked for pasta a few nights ago. I promised to make it this week and while catching up on Kitchen Flavour’s blog, I came across a Spaghetti Bolognese recipe she has posted from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Food Revolution. It’s a simpler recipe compared to other food celebrities’ and what I like most about it is it doesn’t ask for tomato paste and red wine, both of which I don’t cook with on a regular basis. I didn’t have fresh basil so I used dried basil instead and added it with the oregano.

The sauce turns red after the hour-long simmering and the addition of Parmesan in the sauce makes it rich. You can stop simmering after an hour but if you like your sauce to be thicker, simmer for an additional half an hour with the lid off. It’s a tasty sauce and the boys enjoyed their meal although I think they had more enthusiasm for the garlic toast…!

Read Kitchen Flavour’s post for her adapted recipe or click here for the original recipe.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2011 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “JFR’s Spaghetti Bolognese

  1. yummychunklet

    November 29, 1999 at 8:00 pm

    This recipe looks really tasty and intriguing from reading the recipe. No tomato paste or red wine? And the sauce “turns” red…this I have to see!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      June 4, 2011 at 12:55 am

      The sauce was brown, the color of cooked meat, at first but the tomatoes won in the end. ;)

       
  2. kitchen flavours

    June 4, 2011 at 4:48 am

    The sauce is definitely delicious. My kids really loved it. I’m planning to cook this again next week for freezing, school will start in another week, and will be great for their after school meal. Definitely a time saver!
    I’m glad that your kids enjoyed it too! Have a lovely weekend!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

