RSS

French Fridays (Catch-up): Spinach and Bacon Quiche

06 Jun

I skipped quite a number of weeks of French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) beginning the week(s) before my vacation, during and after my vacation. I’ll catch up whenever I can on the recipes I missed like this one. However, this quiche was made mostly because I had to buy a packet of bacon for the bolognese sauce I made earlier and I wanted to use it up! After checking FFWD and AMFT for recipes with bacon, I separated the bacon according to the required number of slices for the recipes, wrapped them up and froze them.

This quiche requires 4 slices of bacon, 10 ounces of spinach, just 2 eggs and 2/3 cup of heavy cream which I substituted with half-and-half. There’s also a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese on top. I didn’t have to make the tart shell from scratch as I had a Tenderflake frozen pie shell in the freezer. A simple quiche to put together although you do need time to prepare the spinach and cook the bacon till crisp.

Big Kid doesn’t like quiche because he doesn’t like the soft custard but he liked this quiche. The proportion of solid ingredients is more than the custard in this quiche. I like it this way too. This quiche is also a good way to eat lots of spinach! Here you go, Popeye!

(Spinach and Bacon Quiche was the FFWD recipe for the week of May 12, 2011)

 
 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “French Fridays (Catch-up): Spinach and Bacon Quiche

  1. yummychunklet

    June 6, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Your quiche looks tasty. Glad you were able to make this one!

     
  2. kitchen flavours

    June 6, 2011 at 11:13 am

    This looks delicious! Quiche has always been on my list, I have a few bookmarked for ages, got to give one a try soon!
    The spinach and bacon sounds yummy!
    Have a lovely day, KY!

     
  3. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    June 7, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    I love quiche for a quick, light dinner. This one looks really good- anything with bacon sounds good to me! I haven’t done FFD in ages either. Maybe I’ll start back up this summer when I have more time. :)

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

