RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Cola and Jam Spareribs

09 Jun

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe is ribs marinated with Chinese 5-spice powder and ground ginger. Chinese 5-spice and ginger? I’m not so sure about that! They are both strong spices and I don’t like Chinese 5-spice powder very much. However, in the spirit of adventure, I went along. The ribs are first rubbed with the spice mixture and then marinated in a mixture of apricot jam, orange juice and lemon juice. The cola gets pour in at the last 45 minutes of roasting. My ribs were marinated overnight in the dry spice rub only as I didn’t have the jam and juice and could only get them the next day. Instead of apricot jam, I bought a bottle of orange jam with orange peel that was on sale. I like the slight bitterness that the orange peel imparts. The second change I made was to use back ribs instead of spareribs.

Baking the ribs was easy but it was a hot day that Tuesday. It was 29C in the afternoon, humidex at 38C! Each time I open the oven door to baste the ribs I would wince! Finally, after almost 2 hours, the ribs were done. There were still a lot of liquid left in the pan. I wonder if it’s due to the pan being small – I used a Pyrex glass pan and the ribs were touching the sides and each other.

Tasting time and …. meh. The ribs were a little sweet and a little bitter and that’s about it. The flavour was mostly on the skin. The flesh beneath was tender but just tasted of pork. Sorry, Dorie, I prefer my ribs to be more flavourful. Dorie didn’t give much description about the ribs so I’m not sure if this is the way it’s supposed to turn out. I haven’t cooked enough ribs to know. It seems more braised ribs than barbecue ribs…

There was almost one rack left over. The next day I pulled the meat off the ribs, shredded them and cooked them with BBQ sauce. Yum! ;-)

I’m going to go read what the other FFWD members think about this recipe. Click here and join me.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Cola and Jam Spareribs

  1. michelle

    June 10, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Well, the pictures are lovely! And it sounds like you utilized the leftovers well :)

     
  2. Yuri

    June 10, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Wow lovely photos, I think I should borrow one for my post! I didn’t eat these but my bf and sister said the flavor was bland and they didn’t like them at all. First recipe from Dorie that isn’t a hit here.

     
  3. Krissy

    June 10, 2011 at 1:55 am

    My thoughts exactly. We added BBQ sauce. We also took off the meat and made BBQ sandwiches which were much better.

     
  4. yummychunklet

    June 10, 2011 at 7:35 am

    I still have a half rack leftover, so I’m going to be shredding it as well. Great tip and post!

     
  5. pachecopatty

    June 10, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I think your rack of ribs look good, sorry you weren’t crazy about the flavor, the Chinese five-spice powder flavor was pretty pronounced and if you don’t care for it I could see why you wouldn’t love this recipe.

     
  6. Eileen

    June 10, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Those ribs are huge! They look very “Flintstones.” I liked Dorie’s recipe okay, but much prefer ribs that are more BBQ-ish. My husband makes awesome ribs, so I probably won’t bother with this recipe again.

     
  7. Kate@Diethood

    June 10, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Well they look really good in that photo! :) I think that these needed to be marinated for a long time… that’s what I did and they were delicious.

     
  8. Speckle of Dirt

    June 10, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    At least you gave it a shot! I need to do mine tonight and might take some of your suggestions…I may brown mine first perhaps!

     
  9. Adriana

    June 10, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Your pictures look fantastic! If I were to repeat the marinade/seasoning combination, I will cook them in the charcoal grill to get the smokey flavor throughout the meat. There weren’t any leftovers around, but Iike your suggestion for next time.

     
  10. Cher

    June 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Hey – you tried. Sorry these weren’t a hit for you. The flavors were probably pretty taste specific, so I get how they might not be for everyone…

    Pretty picture.

     
  11. nana

    June 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I agree, your pictures look great. Tricia and I did not care for the recipe either, the flavor was not
    pleasant. The meat cooked well using this method so perhaps I might try it again with another
    type of rub and BBQ sauce.

     
  12. Susan

    June 10, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think your ribs look great, too. We liked them, but I have to admit, I would never have tried this recipe if it hadn’t been for FFWD – which is exactly what I like about our group! Have a great weekend!

     
  13. Krissy

    June 11, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I agree with you…this recipe needs more flavor. With all the interesting ingredients these ribs should have had a great taste all the way through, but you are right, they just tasted like blah pork. Enjoyed your post.

     
  14. Teresa

    June 11, 2011 at 3:31 am

    We enjoyed these, but we’re not fans of traditional ribs, so I think that’s the difference. I covered the roasting pan and I think that gave them a lot more flavour. Your ribs look perfect, especially in your first photo.

     
  15. Mary

    June 11, 2011 at 8:34 am

    At least you made them, which is a lot better than I did! I thought this sounded like the most unappetizing recipe in the book! You certainly made them look good, though, and I’m glad you were able to make the leftovers into something delicious.

     
  16. kitchen flavours

    June 11, 2011 at 11:30 am

    This is a first that I’ve heard of Dorie’s recipes not liked by many! And a Chinese spice in her French Table Cookbook, sounds amusing! At least you have found a yummy way of cooking the leftovers! And your spareribs
    looks really good! :)

     
  17. Candy

    June 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    I love your first photo! I agree with you that the flavor was just OK.

     
  18. Trevor Sis. boom

    June 12, 2011 at 2:08 am

    I think they look fantastic. And well worth making two racks!

     
  19. Betsy

    June 12, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    These weren’t my favorite either. And, I was so hopeful, I made a double bath. I didn’t try to save the leftovers though. It seemed hopeless. Too bad I didn’t read your post before I tossed my leftovers. There’s always next week’s recipe, right?

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

