RSS

Field Trips

16 Jun

The end of the school year is pretty fun for students – they get to go on field trips! Little Guy’s class visited a farm cum education centre at the end of last month and it was a very good trip. They learned about rabbits, goats and chickens as well as making chicken feed and grooming a pony! I went along as a parent volunteer to help the teacher manage the class. It was also an opportunity to meet the other parents and know who Little Guy’s friends are. Kindergarteners are cute!

WP_000637Petting the goats

WP_000661

WP_000647

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I went with Big Kid’s class to the Toronto Zoo. I volunteered to go to help and also, I haven’t been to the Toronto Zoo before. Each adult had to watch over 4 kids but I teamed up with Mr. M since it was my first time there. Watching over 8 boys at the zoo is not as easy as watching a group of kindergarteners at the farm, that’s for sure! From the start till the end, Mr. M and I would be calling at one or two of the boys who likes to run ahead of the group. “Charlie! Come back here!” “Danny! We go as a team!” The boys had a good time and I think they enjoyed all the exhibits. Their only disappointment was not being able to watch the sharks and stingrays as that exhibit requires an additional admission fee and parents were told not to send money with their children that day.

WP_000729WP_000724

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We were there for more than 4 hours and by the time we were on the bus heading back to school, my ears were ringing and I had developed a headache! But I didn’t mind. I had spend a day out with my son, saw a Komodo dragon with him, met his friends and got to know 3 other parents. Smile The only thing is I didn’t manage to make this week’s French Fridays recipe (Roasted Rhubarb)!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Field Trips

  1. kitchen flavours

    June 17, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Such a enjoyable day for the kids and a memorable day for you! Watching over a group of active kids is not for me, much as I love children, I think that they will drive me nuts! :)

     
  2. yummychunklet

    June 17, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Looks like a fun day!

     
  3. Mary

    June 18, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Kids are fun, and exhausting! I never get to go on the field trips, though, as the regular teachers go and leave us poor supply teachers back at the school. I used to take my ESL students to the zoo and they fell asleep on the bus home every time. I did make the rhubarb but haven’t had time to post it yet! Hopefully today…

     
    • Ker-Yng

      June 18, 2011 at 10:41 am

      That’s too bad that supply teachers don’t get to go. My son fell asleep on the bus home!! :)

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

