RSS

Stouffville’s Strawberry Festival

29 Jun

My little town has a big event every year – the Stouffville Strawberry Festival. I think it’s a great idea and event. I joined the committee this year as I wanted to be involved in something big for the town. Got a small portfolio – managing the ‘Social Media’ but in actual fact, it’s just Facebook. I manage and keep the Facebook page current; promoting the events and creating excitement for the festival. At this point we have only 101 fans, up from around 5 in March!

The Festival is starting tomorrow but the big days are Friday, which is also Canada Day, and Saturday. When I drove by Park Dr today, I saw they were setting up for the carnival. The sight of it got me excited about the festival last year and it did the same thing to me this year! Smile

IMG_8220 (600x324)

I’ll blog about the event after it’s over. I imagine I’ll be quite busy during the festival from both working and enjoying it with my family and friends!

In the meantime, if you’re on Facebook, you can check out the festival here: http://www.facebook.com/StouffvilleStrawberryFestival

or www.strawberryfestival.ca on the web.

UPDATE: Post-event blog post here.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Stouffville’s Strawberry Festival

  1. Mary

    July 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    This looks like it’s going to be a grand event. I can’t wait to hear about it. Re: your question about the sauce. It should keep that long if it has been refrigerated. I wouldn’t plan on too much more time than that though. Have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

     
  2. Teresa

    July 2, 2011 at 3:45 am

    That’s so great – getting involved in community events is important and a lot of fun, too. The town I grew up in used to have a Strawberry Social every year. It had a turn of the (last) century theme and volunteers would dress up in straw boaters or carry parasols. I hope your festival’s a great success!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

