RSS

Chocolate Crunchies

09 Jul

My friend asked me to watch her boys for a while today. While her older son and Big Kid played together, I asked her younger son and Little Guy if they wanted to make some ‘cookies’. They were surprisingly enthusiastic! I already had a recipe in mind, a non-bake recipe from a children’s cookbook.

IMG_8739

This Ladybird book is from my childhood – it’s probably older than me – and I had ‘salvaged’ it from a pile of old books in my mother’s home and brought it to Canada for my children.

IMG_8722

The ingredients are simple: butter, cocoa powder, sugar, golden syrup and cornflakes.

The butter, cocoa powder, sugar and golden syrup are melted together and poured over the cornflakes.

IMG_8723

Mix the melted mixture and the cornflakes together.

IMG_8726

“Is this done?” “Not yet.”

IMG_8731

And mix till well combined. Add more cornflakes if the mixture is too wet.

IMG_8735

Spoon a tablespoonful into paper cases.

IMG_8736

And that’s it. Give your friend a high-five for a job well done!

Chocolate Crunchies

25g sugar (I used 20g but still found it sweet)
25g cocoa
2 cups Rice Krispies or Cornflakes
50g butter
1 tablespoon golden syrup
Paper cases

Put the cereal in a mixing bowl. Place butter, sugar and golden syrup in a small pan and heat over low heat, stirring with a wooden spoon until the ingredients have melted together. Remove from heat. Add cocoa to pan and mix well.

Pour melted mixture into mixing bowl and stir gently until cereal is coated. Place a tablespoonful into each paper case, then leave them in a cool place to set. (I put them in the refrigerator.)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2011 in Baking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Chocolate Crunchies

  1. yummychunklet

    July 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    What a great kid project! I’ll have to remember that for my nieces.

     
  2. Betty @ scrambled henfruit

    July 10, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    This looks like a good recipe to make with my grandson! He’d love it, I’m sure. Cute cookbook! (Cute little bakers, too!) :)

     
  3. Teresa

    July 13, 2011 at 11:44 am

    I love that you saved that book – you can pass it on to your grandchildren someday! I loved baking with my nieces when they were little. Kids are so curious and serious about the whole process.

     
  4. Tara

    September 20, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Oh my gosh!! I’ve been craving this concoction for days! I used to make it all the time when I was much much younger from that exact cookbook :) thank you so much for sharing (not to go buy some cornflakes)

     
    • Life is Full

      September 20, 2013 at 1:53 pm

      You’re welcome! Hope making it brings back more warm memories!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

