RSS

Failure and comfort

20 Jul

Tomorrow is Big Kid’s birthday. He saw the Perfect Party Cake in my Baking book and liked it. That boy likes fruit and jam so I know he was attracted to the red jam filling between the cake layers. I know many who baked this cake had problems with the cake not rising. I read all the tips but alas, my cake failed too. Maybe it was the dark pans, maybe it was the lower heat I used (since I was baking with dark pans), maybe I overbeat or underbeat the batter but whatever it was, my cake did not rise. They were barely an inch tall. I would not be able to recreate the tall four-layer cake from the book. It was disappointing. After some consideration, I just decided to cut my losses and abandon the project. Don’t shout at me. It’s already too late. I have placed an order for a cake from a bakery. A lemon mousse cake because my boy likes tart desserts too. I felt sad because I’ve always baked birthday cakes for my family unless there was a specific request for something else.

I didn’t have the mood to make dinner but we got to eat. I took the 4 egg yolks left over from the cake recipe and made comfort food – pasta with carbonara sauce. We had rotini carbonara with bacon, peas and garlic. Yum. I feel slightly better.

 

Boiled pasta till al dente. Meanwhile, put sliced bacon into a cold saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, under bacon is crispy. Pour oil away leaving a teaspoon and stir in minced garlic and some frozen peas. Cook till garlic is fragrant and peas are heated through. Remove from heat. In a medium bowl, whisk together egg yolks, 1/2 cup half-and-half, 1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan, salt and pepper. When pasta is done, drain pasta and pour it back to the pot. Toss the egg mixture through the hot pasta then toss with the bacon mixture. Serve immediately. 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Cooking, Food, Life

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Failure and comfort

  1. giddy tigress

    November 29, 1999 at 8:00 pm

    You bet pasta is comfort food! Just looking at it already makes me feel better…
    Don’t worry about the failure – you can always try again and again and there is always next year’s birthday. :) *hugs*

     
    • Ker-Yng

      July 21, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, Joyce. :)

       
  2. yummychunklet

    July 21, 2011 at 10:56 am

    This pasta looks creamy and rich. Yum!

     
  3. Teresa

    July 22, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    Nice looking pasta. I always make new recipes for special occasions and it’s always a risk. But I always learn something from the failures. I bet he loved the birthday cake you got him and as, Joyce said, there’s always next year’s cake to come.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

