RSS

French Fridays: Coconut-Lemongrass-Braised Pork

22 Jul

Another Asian-influenced dish from Around My French Table; pork curry-stew. Turmeric, curry powder, cardomom seeds, coriander seeds, lemongrass and coconut milk are used in this curry. This recipe says to braise the stew in the oven but I cooked it the way I cook curry – entirely on the stove. It was too hot to have the oven on anyway! I cooked the potatoes and carrots separately as Dorie said but cooked the onions with the pork to add extra sweetness to the stew. I also poured all but 1/4 of the can of coconut milk into the Dutch oven and added the remaining milk only at the end as the flavour of the coconut milk will be cooked away when cooked too long. I omitted the honey too as I didn’t think the stew needs it, preferring it savoury than sweet.

It was a pleasant and mild curry. I found the strongest flavours were the lemongrass and cardomom. My kids could eat it and they think it’s quite nice. After all, only 1 heaped teaspoon of curry powder was used. I found a drizzle of soy sauce to chicken curry enhances its flavour and it worked on this dish as well. We had it two days in a row and it did taste better the next day. The first night I served it over white rice and garlic fried rice the second. (The second night’s dinner was better!)

That’s all from me on this recipe. I’m curious how other French Fridays with Dorie members found it. Click here for their links. (I’ll update this post with the link when it’s up. The FFwD website appears to be down at this moment.)

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “French Fridays: Coconut-Lemongrass-Braised Pork

  1. Adriana @ GreatFood360°

    July 22, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I don’t know if my turmeric was too strong, but that was all or most of what I could taste. I thought it overshadowed most of the other spice flavors. I think it is a great curry “for beginners” – lots of spice but not too much heat.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      July 22, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      Maybe it was tumeric and not the cardamom that was strong! I used 2 stems of lemongrass because I was using frozen ones and feared they would have lost some flavour. :)

       
  2. yummychunklet

    July 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Love that you served it over rice! I was about to but it was hot enough in the kitchen and I didn’t want to plug in anything else! Great post!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      July 22, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      Guess I didn’t think of not serving it over rice! ;-)

       
  3. Teresa

    July 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I like the idea of this over garlic rice – sounds great. It’s nice to have a mild curry once in a while. I found that none of the flavours dominated this stew, which made each bite really interesting.You managed to make yours look so pretty in your photos, too1

     
    • Ker-Yng

      July 22, 2011 at 11:59 pm

      Thanks, Teresa. Try the garlic rice sometime.

       
  4. kankana

    July 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Does this look good or what!!! Coconut and lemongrass is such and amazing flavor combination. Would love to eat that meal anytime.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      July 22, 2011 at 11:52 pm

      Thanks! I like the flavour combination too.

       
  5. kitchen flavours

    July 23, 2011 at 5:54 am

    Wow, I always find it amusing to find an Asian dish in a French cookbook! :)
    Your curry looks really nice, perfect for kids and those who are not into spicy food. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

     
  6. Cher

    July 23, 2011 at 9:58 am

    If I had made it this week – if definitely would have needed to go on the stove top! Too hot for an oven.
    It was a tight one with the spices – a few of the ones used in this dish were “taste hogs”/

    Stay cool!

     
  7. Tricia S.

    July 23, 2011 at 10:26 am

    So interesting to read your post because in my version all I could taste was either the tumeric or curry (I am a beginner to these and they both seem similar to me). I was looking forward to the other flavors and did not taste….or even smell them in the completed dish. Nana loved it so that was a fun ending to this week. Garlic rice sounds awesome – well done !

     
  8. giddy tigress

    July 25, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I’m itching to try a mild curry dish with my kids. Not sure if they’ll take a liking to it…thanks for sharing this recipe! It looks a lot like the kurma curry, which I love…

     
  9. carol anderson

    October 27, 2011 at 8:21 am

    How do I get the actual recipe? This looks delicious and just what I was looking for since I bought pork and lemon grass!

     
    • Life is Full

      October 27, 2011 at 9:31 am

      We’re not allowed to post the recipe on our blogs but the recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s book Around My French Table. Or you could do an Internet search to see if it turns up!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

