RSS

Update and Anchovies (Ikan bilis) Fried Rice

09 Aug

The basement work is halfway through now and the dust level has dropped. My kids have learnt to walk on the edges of the protective paper laid down on the floor for the workers to walk on or leap over it to get to ‘clean territory’. We ‘borrowed’ some clean paper from the contractor’s roll and put a layer over at night so we can walk about normally and roll it up in the morning before they arrive. I should be able to show you a finished picture by the end of next week. The men work hard and fast. During the first week of work, we thought we’ll be able to sleep in on Saturday but at 9am, the doorbell rang!

For dinner tonight, I made ikan bilis – salted and dried anchovies (in Malay) – fried rice. I brought them back from Malaysia already gutted and cleaned, and store them in the freezer. Before using them today, I gave them a wash and put them in the toaster oven at 200 degrees F for about 1.5 hours till dry and almost crisp. I then fried them in hot oil till brown and crunchy-crisp. They crisp up in no time because they’re already so dried. The fried rice is cooked the usual way and the anchovies are mixed in at the end. Great with sambal!

By the way, my new computer arrived but it’s a Mac. I’m still posting with my phone until I learn how to import and manage my photos!


Fried anchovies draining on paper towels.


 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Cooking, Food, Life

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Update and Anchovies (Ikan bilis) Fried Rice

  1. Three-Cookies

    August 10, 2011 at 6:00 am

    I love ikan bilis, you are lucky to have easy access to them

     
    • Life is Full

      August 10, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      You can find them in Chinese/Asian supermarkets too. They are smaller than those I bought from Malaysia though. The ones from Thailand would be good.

       
  2. yummychunklet

    August 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    The fried rice looks tasty! Looks like great progress is being made on your renovations.

     
  3. Mary

    August 11, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Oh, the joys of living in a construction zone! Glad it is coming along quickly! Your rice looks delicious, even though I am not an anchovy fan. I’ve never tried them dried and crisp, so that might be the trick.
    I have no idea what a blossom is! The galette is just an open-face pie cooked on a cookie sheet instead of in a pie plate. Is it like that? Oh, and the cornmeal! Yes, you know how I feel about it, but it is great here. I used the finest one I could find, and it was not gritty at all. I think the moist dough and filling helped. You can also use your regular pie crust, but it may not be sturdy enough.

     
  4. kitchen flavours

    August 12, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Your fried rice looks really good with the ikan bilis! My kitchen can never be without ikan bilis! :) Looking forward to see the photos of your completed basement!

     
  5. Mary

    August 14, 2011 at 8:50 am

    This sounds like a great dish. I’ll have to try and find the anchovies in our local Asian market. I’m so glad your construction work is going smoothly. I’m looking fo ward to the reveal when things are finished. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

     
  6. Betty @ scrambled henfruit

    August 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

    Construction is aggravating, but it’s so nice when it’s finished! I know you’ll love your basement when it’s finished. I bet those anchovies in this dish create a burst of flavor! It sounds delicious, and it gets me wondering where I might find some of those little anchovies! :)

     
  7. Teresa

    August 20, 2011 at 6:34 am

    That fried rice sounds delicious!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

