RSS

It’s Finished!

26 Aug

The basement renovation completed on Tuesday, hurrah! We now have a TV and play area, a bathroom, a laundry room and a study in our basement!

I’m sure I was excited that day but I was also anxious about the cleaning up and re-organising work that’s awaiting, much like moving into a new house but on a smaller scale! We would also need to be creative in moving all our ‘stuff’ (currently sitting in our living room and the spare bedroom upstairs) back to the basement as we now have less storage space.

So it was a welcomed distraction when my neighbours, Rich and Ange, invited us to join them for a BBQ dinner that night. They wanted to thank me for always sharing my baked goods with them. 🙂

This was what I last shared with them – Dorie Greenspan’s Florida Pie – a key lime pie with a layer of coconut cream. Sweet and tangy! My meringue was overbeaten though, sigh! I’m just going to whisk the egg whites by hand next time.

For dinner, Rich grilled these delicious, juicy burgers and prepared a condiments bar with sweet sautéed onions, bacon strips, relish and tomato slices. I made Potato Chip Tortilla, from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table, as an appetizer to snack on while waiting for the burgers.

Potato Chip Tortilla – a Spanish omelette made with crushed potato chips (I used tortilla chips instead) and green onions.

Next week is the last week of the summer holiday! Time flies! Hope to bring the kids out somewhere since they have been home with me so much watching the renovation.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2011 in Baking, Cooking, Food, Life

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “It’s Finished!

  1. yummychunklet

    August 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Congrats! And your potato chip tortilla looks delicious!

     
  2. giddy tigress

    August 26, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Your basement looks gorgeous!! Happy organizing!

     
  3. Janine

    August 26, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Wow the basement, the florida pie and tortilla pie all look gorgeous! I’ve never heard of a tortilla pie but it sure looks great!

     
    • Life is Full

      August 26, 2011 at 11:27 pm

      Thanks, Janine. I’ve never heard of Spanish tortillas till AMFT too!

       
  4. kitchen flavours

    August 27, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Wow, your basement looks beautiful! Your Florida Pie looks delicious! And your Potato Chip Tortilla sounds good, like the green veggies (spring onions, chives?) in it! The kids definitely deserve a “break” , you too!
    And yes, my kitchen smell of the belacan but it is a nice smell, after frying with the onions and garlic! I do not mind it one bit, just like the stinky petai, stinky but delicious! Do you eat petai? My two kids love petai, just like their mommy! 🙂
    Have a lovely Sunday, KY!

     
    • Life is Full

      August 28, 2011 at 1:18 am

      Thanks for all the compliments, Joyce! I can’t say I don’t like petai but I hardly eat it. 🙂

       
  5. Quay Po

    August 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Your basement looks terrific! I am sure you will enjoy the place. I have never heard of tortilla pie. I learn something new today. The pie looks delicious.

     
    • Life is Full

      August 28, 2011 at 1:19 am

      Thanks, Quay Po. I hope your renovation is going well too.

       
  6. Betty

    August 28, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I love your basement- I can’t wait to get mine done! I want to try that potato chip tortilla- it looks so good! 🙂

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!