RSS

Rediscovered: Balinese Food Trays

23 Sep

I bought half a bushel of honey crisp apples today from the apple farm. The lady at the apple stand told me the cold room would be the perfect place to store the apples and I could keep them even till January! She said a basket would be ideal to hold them to allow air circulation. I don’t have a basket but another customer who bought a whole bushel said she just put them on a tray.

When I got home I decided to continue my storage reorganization project in the newly renovated basement. That’s when I found the perfect thing for the apples – this food tray with cover that my mum bought for me when my parents went on a holiday to Bali, an island in Indonesia:

 These aren’t the easiest thing to bring back from a holiday as the covers can be easily ripped or the thin bamboo strip broken so… thanks, Mum! I appreciate it!!

The food trays comes in a set of three and this one is the biggest. When I was living in Malaysia, I would buy pastries and desserts and put them in the tray and pull the cover over to keep flies away. We leave our windows open all the time and sometimes a fly or two do fly in!

These food trays have been hiding in the basement long enough. I’m glad I found them again! Come next summer, they’ll be used more often, especially on the patio table to keep flies and bees off the BBQ!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Rediscovered: Balinese Food Trays

  1. Three-Cookies

    September 23, 2011 at 5:33 am

    Do you plan to store the apples till January? Thats a long time, I wonder if there is a change in taste and nutrition? Maybe I will read about it in your blog on Jan:)

     
    • Life is Full

      September 23, 2011 at 11:06 am

      No, they’ll be gone by next month. :)

       
  2. Liz

    September 23, 2011 at 8:15 am

    What a cool tray…perfect for your yummy apples~

     
  3. yummychunklet

    September 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Love the tray! Pretty and functional!

     
  4. Teresa

    September 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Those trays would be perfect for barbeques – the last one I went to had so many flies trying to land on the food!

    Also, send me your address to onewetfoot at gmail dot com so that I can send you your book!

     
  5. Betty

    September 24, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    Love the tray with the net! I’m having a problem with gnats on my apples- I need something like this! :)

     
  6. kitchen flavours

    September 27, 2011 at 8:23 am

    How I wish to be at any apple farm and plucking fresh, juicy apples too! :o)
    Your Balinese Food Tray is fabulous, handy to have around, especially over here! Love it!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

