RSS

Bacon Fried Rice, Etc.

05 Oct

It has been busy around here the past week. I would like to apologise to my blogger friends for not visiting and commenting on their new posts! My parents are here for a long visit – they arrived last Sunday night – and we had been organising the house in preparation for their visit. We made trips to Ikea, moved furniture about and threw out a lot of garbage! :)

I’m looking forward to learning more dishes from my mum. Just last night I watched her make my all-time favourite, Vinegar Pork Ribs, and it was great. No time for photos, just eat! This afternoon she whipped up a plate of fried rice for the boys’ lunch. It won’t be sandwiches every day for lunch when Grandma’s here!

Bacon fried rice with eggs and cucumber

2 cups cooked rice (left over or day old rice is best)
3 strips of bacon, cut into strips
2 eggs, lightly beaten
Half a medium yellow onion, chopped
1/2 cup of julienned cucumber
Light soy sauce
Dark soy sauce

Fry bacon in a skillet till crispy. Remove, set aside and drain fat from pan.
Pour in beaten eggs and scramble. Season with light soy sauce and pepper. Remove and set aside.
Add a teaspoon of oil and saute the onion. Add in the rice, season with the soy sauces and mix, breaking up clumps of rice. When the rice is warm, put in the bacon, egg and cucumber and mix well. Taste and season with more soy sauce if required. Serve.

@@~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@

There was a surprise in my Inbox recently – I was offered an ‘Editor’s Choice’ award from Be @ Home, a specialty blog with lots of tips and guides for the home and garden! It is my pleasure to have the button on my blog. Click the button and check out the site!

@@~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@

Lastly, I doubt I’ll be posting before Thanksgiving (Canada celebrates Thanksgiving on October 10) so I would like to wish everyone celebrating Thanksgiving a Happy Thanksgiving and hope you’ll have a great day and meal(s) with your family!

We haven’t been celebrating Thanksgiving Day as 1) it wasn’t part of the culture in Malaysia and 2) we didn’t have family here to celebrate with. This year, however, my parents are here and we’ll celebrate! When you’re in Rome, do as the Romans do, eh? Since there’s just 6 of us, I won’t roast a full turkey but will make a turkey roulade instead. Hope it’ll turn out well and we’ll have a splendid meal. Here’s the menu I have in mind:

Turkey roulade
Potato gratin
Roasted vegetables
Pecan tart
Apple pie

Care to share your ideas for a Thanksgiving meal?

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2011 in Cooking, Food, Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Bacon Fried Rice, Etc.

  1. soundmonkey

    October 5, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Oh yeah. Bacon.

     
  2. kitchen flavours

    October 6, 2011 at 1:25 am

    Hi KY! My idea for Thanksgiving meal is…. to join you at your dinner table! Hehehe! Everything sounds delicious! So nice to have your mom around! Your mom gets to pamper your boys the “poh-poh” way! The fried rice looks delicious!
    She brought you a packet of Mak Nyonya rendang sauce? Cool! I have not tried cooking Rendang with this sauce before, as I prepare my own, but I always use this for making pizza, really good! I guess it all depends on your mood, if you feel like having pizza, go ahead, or chicken rendang with rice, go right ahead. I’m sure you will enjoy either one!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and family. Enjoy your turkey roulade….already drooling just thinking about it! :)

     
  3. Liz

    October 6, 2011 at 7:03 am

    Mmmmm….what a simple, flavorful rice dish! Happy Thanksgiving!!! Your menu sounds lovely~

     
  4. Three-Cookies

    October 6, 2011 at 7:37 am

    This looks nice, I’ve had it few times, awesome. I need to try that vinegar pork. And great news about your mum visiting – lot of parties and good eating!

     
  5. yummychunklet

    October 6, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Congrats on your editor’s choice!

     
  6. Quay Po

    October 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Time flies and Thanksgiving is here soon. I am also wondering what I should make for this Thanksgiving. Look forward to see some suggestions from our blogger friends. There is not one dish that does not taste good with bacon. I am sure this bacon fried rice is no exception. I can appreciate that you must be so happy and excited for your parent’s visit. Don’t worry about commenting or blogging while they are there with you. Enjoy your time with them. When you come back, we will be here:D

     
  7. Betty

    October 10, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! Love those pumpkin turkeys. :) That bacon fried rice sounds soooo good. My kids always loved grandma’s cooking best. Enjoy your time with your family! :)

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

