RSS

Salmon Burgers

14 Oct

I cooked dinner last night, just the second time since the arrival of my parents! I hope to share some of my mum’s cooking with you in time.

This salmon burger is easy to put together and cooks quick too. It uses fresh salmon and ground pork with potatoes and onions for extra bite. I make it with leftover grilled salmon too. My family likes these burgers including hubby who is not a fish fan. Hope you’ll like them too!

Salmon Burgers
(Adapted from Harumi’s Japanese Cooking)

12 oz fresh salmon, skinless and bonelesss
1 small onion, diced
1 tablespoon butter
1 small potato, peeled
4 oz ground pork (I use chicken)
1 egg, beaten
Salt and pepper

1. Chop salmon finely until it is almost ground.

2. Lightly cook chopped onions in the butter, taking care to retain the onion’s crisp texture. Leave to cool.

3. Boil the potato or microwave it till cooked. Mash and leave to cool (do not add any butter or milk).

4. In a large bowl, mix the chopped salmon and ground pork. Add the cooked onion, mashed potato and beaten egg, then season with salt and pepper.

5. Shape the mixture into small burgers. Heat some oil in a frying pan. Working in batches, fry the burgers for 2-3 minutes on each side till browned and the meat is cooked.

6. Serve with Ponzu sauce (or mix light soy sauce with lemon juice) or mayonnaise with coarsely ground black pepper.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “Salmon Burgers

  1. Anne-Marie

    October 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I will definitely be giving these a try! They look wonderful. My mouth is watering! Look forward to your mother’s recipes, too!

     
  2. yummychunklet

    October 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    These look delicious! Great alternative to traditional beef burgers.

     
  3. kitchen flavours

    October 15, 2011 at 12:31 am

    These look delicious! A plate of these would disappear in no time at all! Yummy! Mummy is pampering you now with homecooked food? Enjoy! :)

     
  4. Three-Cookies

    October 15, 2011 at 4:03 am

    A surf and turf burger! I have never heard of salmon and pork burger. Interesting for sure

     
  5. Mary

    October 16, 2011 at 9:50 am

    These really look delicious and I can’t wait to give them a try. I love fish cakes and I know these would quickly disappear from my table. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

     
  6. Liz

    October 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    Oh, do these sound fabulous! Enjoy every moment with your parents. Looking forward to seeing some of your mum’s specialties :) xoxo

     
  7. Mary

    October 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    I would never have thought of mixing salmon with ground pork, but these sound great! Enjoy your mom’s cooking, and please do share when you get a chance!

     
  8. Jay

    October 18, 2011 at 12:22 am

    omg….sounds absolutely delicious..
    first time here..love your space..
    awesome posts with nice presentation..
    Am your happy follower now..;)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

     
  9. Teresa

    October 18, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    That sounds like a great recipe. It must be so nice to have your parents around for a long visit.

     
  10. food-4tots

    October 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I love Harumi’s recipe. Your salmon burger looks very inviting! I bet it’s delicious too! ;)

     
  11. Betty

    October 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Your salmon burgers look really good! I’ve made salmon cakes before, but I’ve never mixed it with pork. This is something I’d like to try. :)

     
  12. Quay Po

    October 22, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Fish lovers will be delighted to see this! Enjoy your time with your parents.

     
  13. kitchen flavours

    October 27, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Hi KY, Sorry for the blunders in the recipe! I have corrected it, thanks! Luckily you did get the measurement from the internet! Hope you enjoy the chicken! Have a great weekend! :)

     
  14. Dessert By Candy

    November 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Neat idea! Never occur to me to make patties out of mixing pork and fish together. I can imagine the sturdier texture offer by the pork can help with the salmon. Now I want to try making it too!

     
  15. Kay

    November 13, 2011 at 9:51 am

    Hi Yng, these are just the thing to get my family eating more fish, thanks! But… When do yo add in the salmon? Think you missed that out in your recipe….

     
    • Life is Full

      November 13, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Whoops! Thanks for pointing it out. You add it in Step 4. Will edit the post!

       
  16. foodfashionandflow

    November 17, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    These look so good! I bet your recipe would make great sliders!

     
    • Life is Full

      November 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks! I never thought of it but I think they would too!

       
  17. Angie@Angie's Recipes

    November 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I love those salmon patties! So tempting!

     
    • Life is Full

      November 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks and thanks for dropping by!

       
  18. kitchen flavours

    December 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Hi KY,
    Stopping by to say Hi!

     
  19. kitchen flavours

    December 22, 2011 at 5:44 am

    Hi KY!
    Thanks for stopping by! You must be really busy with Christmas shopping, preparation and everything else! It is nice to know that your parents are still there with you! Not to worry about blogging, take your time, but hope that you will be back in action pretty soon! (wink!!)
    Wish you “A MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS”. May your family have a blessed Christmas and a wonderful year ahead!
    I’ll be going to my sis for Christmas for great food and presents! There will be quite a crowd, around 30 and they are all family members! Hehe! (Aiyoh, “beli presents poket kosong”, but so worth it!!)
    See you, my friend!! :)

     
  20. Betty

    December 24, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Just stopping by to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas, and blessings in the coming year! :)

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

