RSS

Last minute dinner switch-up

01 Sep

Up till 5pm I was planning on cooking chicken for dinner. I had a package of half a chicken, cut into pieces, sitting on the counter. It had been thawing in the refrigerator since the night. I still didn’t know what I was going to do with the chicken but chicken it was. However, when I checked on the chicken, it still felt half frozen. Drats. I lost my mood to cook then. But we still need dinner. Drats. At least I didn’t have to rush. We were planning on visiting a couple who just had a baby after dinner but Kip had to work late so it was called off.

I contemplated ordering take-out, ordering a pizza, then I thought of the frozen fresh udon in my freezer. I should cook them, I thought. I need space in the freezer for the slow-cooker Bolognese sauce which I plan to cook tomorrow. Ok, so udon it will be. Stir-fry udon. With the shrimps I have in my freezer. And the bag of bok choy sprouts in my fridge. What kind of sauce? A quick search on the Internet gave me some options but one in particular caught my eye. It uses Japanese seasoning and okonomiyaki sauce. I like okonomiyaki sauce but I don’t have it stocked anymore. I still remember how it tasted though and I knew I could make a sauce that resembles it using BBQ sauce, oyster sauce and Worcestershire sauce! So I put the plan in motion and by 6.30pm my kids were sitting down to a yaki udon dinner. 🙂

Yaki Udon
(serves 4)

Ingredients
4 packets of frozen udon noodles, blanched in boiling water and drained.
1 medium onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
10 large shrimps
A bunch of bok choy sprouts, break each sprout into two
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon dried shaved bonito flakes (optional)

Sauce
2 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon mirin
1 tablespoon sake
1 tablespoon okonomiyaki sauce or combine ½ tablespoon BBQ sauce, ¼ tablespoon oyster sauce and ¼ tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Method
1.    Combine soy sauce, sugar, mirin and sake in a small bowl.
2.    Heat up vegetable oil in a pan and sauté chopped garlic.
3.    Add in shrimps and fry till cooked. Dish out and set aside.
4.    Heat up sesame oil and cook onions for 1 minute.
5.    Add in boy choy and cook for another minute or until softened.
6.    Add shrimps back to pan followed by the noodles.
7.    Pour in sauce and mix.
8.    Pour in the okonomiyaki sauce and mix.
9.    Dish out to serving plate and sprinkle bonito flakes on top if using.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Food

 

Tags: ,

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
