RSS

Slow-cooker Bolognese Sauce

01 Sep

I mentioned yesterday about a slow-cooker bolognese sauce that I’m going to cook. I stumbled upon that recipe when following a link about Lasagna Cupcakes posted by FoodForTots on her Facebook page.  The recipe came from Framed Cooks‘ blog which took me to her bolognese sauce recipe.

I cooked it today and it was good. Rich, meaty sauce but a tad on the sweet side. Will have to reduce the sugar the next time I make it. This recipe calls for a 5-quart slow cooker. I thought mine was a 7-quart one until the ingredients filled the pot to the brim even before all the ingredients called for was put in. A quick check shows that mine was only a 4-quart. I scooped out some to a saucepan leaving an inch of space below the rim for the sauce to bubble and simmer. So I had a slow-cooker and a saucepan of bolognese sauce cooking in my kitchen today. To the saucepan, I added some celery and carrots in the last 30 minutes of cooking just to use them up.

My efforts yielded 4 dinners for 2 + 2 (one tonight and 3 more in the freezer) and some for my neighbour too. 🙂

I placed some of the sauce from the saucepan on the noodles before spooning over the sauce from the slow-cooker

Slow-cooker Bolognese Sauce (adapted from Framed Cooks’ recipe)

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 28-oz can no-salt-added whole tomatoes, drained and roughly cut up (use the kitchen scissors)
  • 720ml bottled tomato puree (sauce)
  • 13-oz can tomato paste
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Method

  1. Brown ground beef in skillet. Scoop with a slotted spoon into slow-cooker.
  2. Mix in rest of the ingredients.
  3. Cover and cook on High for the 1st hour or until the sauce comes to a boil.
  4. Switch the heat to Low and cook for 6 hours.
  5. Serve with your favourite pasta with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Cooking, Food

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
