RSS

No FFWD Today

04 Nov

I was going to make the Caramel-Topped Semolina Cake for French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) this week but it requires farina (finer grain that semolina) or Cream of Wheat. I’ve not heard of either before but I thought semolina flour will be do the trick and bought a bag of it. Then I read that semolina and semolina flour are not the same. That means, while I can use semolina in the recipe, I may not be able to use semolina flour as a substitute. In the recipe, the farina is cooked with milk until it’s a thick, cereal-like mixture. I didn’t think the semolina flour would work. Still, I was determined to make a semolina cake as I had bought a 2lb bag of semolina flour! I thought at least I can put up a post on semolina cake although it’s not Dorie’s French dessert.

I decided to make a Eurasian semolina cake. We call it Sugee cake in Malaysia. I asked my mum for a recipe and started making it last night. The semolina flour had to be soaked in creamed butter overnight. I finished off and baked the cake today but sadly, it FAILED. I found it too dry. It was a big disappointment as it smelled so good in the oven and I was expecting a delicious cake. Maybe I’ve overbaked it or something but it didn’t taste as moist as the sugee cakes I had before.

This morning when buying almond meal for the sugee cake, I found farina. It was sold as ‘Creamy Wheatlets’ in Bulk Barn. I bought some in case I decide to make Dorie’s cake. But the disappointment has zapped me of my energy. I also don’t think my family will enjoy the “puddingish” cake made with a base of cooked cereal after all. So long story short, there won’t be a FFWD post or a cake post from me this Friday. 😦

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in Life

 

One response to “No FFWD Today

  1. Karen

    November 7, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Well, that is a bummer that this didn’t work out for you this week. I actually already made this and will have a post up about it next Friday. Suffice it to say my daughter did not like it. 🙂 I hope you like it if you decide to make it.

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
