RSS

Resume Blahs

15 Nov

I have to do my resume as an exercise in a career seminar I’m attending. I dislike doing it each time I have to – when I was first seeking employment as a fresh graduate and when I was looking to change jobs later on. No change now, I still dislike it. Resume writing is such a chore! I’m struggling to remember what I used to do, what my achievements were. Wait a minute, I could look up my old resume. Yeah, the last updated one from 5 6 years ago… if I know where I had kept it. I don’t even know if I have a printed copy somewhere among the files.

My resume’s due tomorrow at my weekly class. Two people from an employment company will be there to help review our resume. I knew about this assignment two Tuesdays ago but of course I have to leave it till the day before to start working on it. I forgot about it! I put it off for later! I had other more interesting things to do like bake! Searching for resume samples and templates on the Internet brings me back to the days where I had to have a resume in order to find a job or to get out of the current job. Not very happy times. Not very pleasant memories!

I also had to make a networking call this week. Not a cold call for a job but a call to a contact given by a fellow participant just to connect and talk about working in the contact’s industry. Still it was a little nerve-wrecking for me. I had to prepare my introduction, prepare my little speech about wanting to meet and talk, run the conversation through my head etc. When I was ready, I dialled the number, connected to her extension and waited only to reach her voice mail… for each of my three attempts. Argh! Will try again tomorrow.

Alright, enough procrastination. The resume’s not going to get done by itself. Got to get back to it, right after I go through my files upstairs to see if my old resume’s there…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in Life

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Resume Blahs

  1. kitchen flavours

    November 15, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Good luck with your resume! I totally hate preparing resumes too! My last resume was like a zillion years ago! Hope you get yours done soon. That done, then go and bake something! He! He!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      November 16, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Thanks. I got it done last night. 🙂 Will hope over to your site for baking inspiration!

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
