RSS

French Fridays with Dorie: Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

04 Dec

I made these for French Fridays with Dorie (FFWD) this week. (Yes, I’m late in posting!) Simple to make but great tasting. The nuts are coated with egg white, tossed in a sugar and spice mixture then baked. They are sweet (from the sugar) and spicy (mainly from the chili powder) as the name tells you. The way to eat them is to put some in a bowl and sit far away from the jar of nuts else you’ll end up finishing the jar in one sitting!

I used a combination of whole peanuts, cashews, almonds and pecans. My favourite was the pecans. Next time I’ll omit the peanuts as it was almost laborious separating the small nuts before baking.

 

 

This month FFWD members are free to select the recipe they want to make each week from the December set of recipes. Check out what other members made here.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2010 in Baking, Food, French Fridays with Dorie

 

Tags: , ,

19 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie: Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

  1. yummychunklet

    December 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Glad you liked the nuts! And, I like how you stored them in a mason jar. I’m going to bring these to work so I can avoid the “I can’t believe I ate all of them” phenomena!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Thanks a very good idea because my jar is now empty!

       
  2. Lana

    December 5, 2010 at 7:02 am

    I would stay away only if I buried the jar and the ground became frozen (not likely in SoCal). So I have accepted the sad truth that I will be eating a lot of nuts pretty soon. I like how they look in a jar.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 7, 2010 at 9:49 am

      At least you’ll be eating really tasty nuts. 😉

       
  3. Anne Marie

    December 5, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Tie a ribbon on that jar and it would be a lovely present!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 7, 2010 at 9:48 am

      I think so too! 😉

       
  4. peaseporridgepdx

    December 6, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Your photos are lovely. Mason jars make everything look great.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 7, 2010 at 9:47 am

      Thanks. It was either the jars or Tupperware, no fancy containers in my home!

       
  5. Teresa

    December 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    They looks so pretty!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 7, 2010 at 9:47 am

      Thanks, Teresa.

       
  6. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    December 7, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    I love the way these look in your jar! Nuts are so addictive- it’s hard to stop eating them. I think I’ll try this recipe this week, because it looks easy and delicious. (They would also make a great gift if they lasted long enough.)

     
  7. Krissy

    December 8, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Thanks for the tips! I was thinking about P-Nuts, but no more…I’ll go with the larger nuts. Looks great.

     
  8. Mary

    December 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    These would be so dangerous for me to have around! I’m also notorious for picking out the stuff I like and leaving the peanuts for the poor person who gets the bowl next! I put everything in mason jars too. Very nice.
    As for the chocolate chip cookies, many recipes have to much baking soda to ‘overleaven’ them, so they rise up and collapse, and stay flat and chewy. The Ad Hoc recipe did not have a strong soda taste, so you may enjoy it.
    🙂

     
  9. Allison

    December 9, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I’m making the nuts this week! I’m so glad you liked them. I’m thinking about making them with herbs de provance. I love your photography!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 9, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Thanks! I haven’t had nuts with herbs before so I look forward to your post!

       
  10. kitchen flavours

    December 9, 2010 at 3:06 am

    These sounds yummy! Will be making some of this for my sis who is nuts over nuts! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 9, 2010 at 9:00 am

      Thanks, Joyce and you’re welcome!

       
  11. luciacara

    December 10, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Your nuts turned out great – the screw-top jars are such a good idea for storing! I used plastic Gladware & the nuts were fine for a few days but then started to lose the wonderful crispness. Gotta get some jars.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      December 10, 2010 at 9:07 am

      I don’t know if it’s any better in the mason jars as the nuts were gone in 2 days! 😉

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
