RSS

Valentine/Waste of Time

14 Feb

I’m not being too cynical about the Valentine’s Day celebration. I think it’s fine for people to celebrate love and affection with people they cherish. It’s the school celebrations that I’m having some problems with, especially the ones with the younger children. My younger son comes home with a name list of his Kindergarten school friends so they can have a “Valentine card exchange.” It can be viewed positively as an opportunity for the child to practice his printing as he writes the names of his friends and his own on twenty-odd cards. Half the time, however, the parents will print the names on behalf of their child because it’s going to be faster and neater.

Now, the plan is to have a card exchange activity. In reality, the teacher takes the Valentine cards that the children bring in to school on the day of the celebration, sorts and puts them in individual bags for the children, along with treats that some parents would bundle with the card. All the child knows is Mummy got Valentine cards for his friends, he brings them to school and he comes home from school with a paper bag full of Valentine cards and treats from his friends. The child doesn’t experience the pleasure of giving to his friends the cards he has personally picked and signed. The child doesn’t experience the pleasure of receiving a card personally from his friends. The child doesn’t get to practice good manners by saying, “Thank you.” for each card he receives! The treats detract attention from the cards too. At the end of the day Little Guy will probably just think Valentine’s Day is like Christmas because he got pencils and chocolates and other fun stuff from school. So like I said, it’s a waste of time.

IMG_5529 (600x400)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Valentine/Waste of Time

  1. yin

    February 15, 2011 at 12:53 am

    valentine = waste of time
    it rhymes!
    i received a stalk of rose from a friend who bought from a seller who was closing shop last night. a bargain hunter that friend; and it costs well over 10$.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 15, 2011 at 7:39 am

      Still receiving roses from admirers on Valentine’s Day, eh? πŸ˜‰

       
      • yin

        February 15, 2011 at 10:26 am

        it wasn’t just for me – and that’s not the point pun!
        :p
        bt was with me of course.

         
      • Ker-Yng

        February 15, 2011 at 12:59 pm

        I was just teasing. πŸ™‚ Hope you and bt had a happy Valentine’s Day! πŸ™‚

         
  2. Becky

    February 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    HI! I’ve awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award & now you get to give the award to your favorite bloggers. Please see my blog for more details:
    http://www.frolickingnightowl.blogspot.com

     
  3. yummychunklet

    February 15, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Aw! The best part about the card exchange was actually giving the cards! It was like passing out the graded papers to everyone.

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 15, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      I know! That’s why I’m disappointed for myself and for my son.

       
  4. Teresa

    February 16, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Valentine’s Day is my least-favourite holiday. My partner and I try to do things together throughout the year. Kevin was picking up throat lozenges at a convenience store on the 14th and it took forever because there was a line up (almost out the door) of men buying cheap bouquets. It doesn’t seem very meaningful.

    For kids, it used to be a cruel popularity contest until schools started making sure that each kid exchanged cards with every other kid in their class. It’s unfortunate that your son’s teacher treated it like an assembly-line task to get out of the way. It could have been a lot of fun for them otherwise.

    I just went on a rant! Sorry about that! πŸ™‚

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 16, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      I ranted offline to a friend, if not my post would have been longer! πŸ™‚

       
  5. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit

    February 17, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Aww…I’m sorry your son’s teacher doesn’t give her/his students more opportunity to participate in their Valentine exchange. I teach primary school and we do exchange Valentines. My students decorated their own Valentine mailboxes the week before Valentines Day. Then, many of my students made their own valentines (to classmates and to family) with materials that were made available in the classroom. (Many of them also brought store bought valentines.) No one was forced to participate, but all of my students did. Each child delivered their own valentines to their friends’ mailboxes and we took the last thirty minutes of the day on Monday to open them. It was so good to see them opening and reading their valentines, and then thanking the person it was from. I thought it was a very good community building exercise, and I hope that the parents didn’t think it was a waste of time! πŸ™‚
    That said, I do think that Valentines Day is way over-commercialized (as are most of the other holidays nowadays) and don’t feel obligated in the least bit to buy my sweetheart a gift. (nor do I expect one from him.) We spent Valentine’s Day at the gym taking care of our hearts instead. πŸ™‚

     
    • Ker-Yng

      February 17, 2011 at 10:26 pm

      I would be very happy if my son’s teacher was like you! We need more teachers like you who would put in effort to make classroom activities meaningful. πŸ™‚ My sweetheart and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day too but this year I bought him a mini chocolate tart just because I saw it and thought of him. πŸ™‚

       

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

 
