RSS

R.I.P. Coffee Maker

24 Apr

20120424-110255.jpg

My coffee maker, which is less than 6 months old, died yesterday. I killed it. 😦 In a blur careless moment, I stupidly absentmindedly plugged it into the 220V output of the step up transformer in the kitchen. I had meant to plug in my 110V hair dryer, which I was using these few days after my regular hair dryer decided to give up the ghost, but grabbed the wrong 2-pin plug instead. The moment I flipped the ‘ON’ switch on the transfomer and heard a sound like a thud, I knew I had done something wrong. Yup, I shot my coffee maker and it fell down with a thud. The fuse and possibly something else must be short-circuited. I haven’t found someone locally who would repair small appliances. Also, the labour cost must be $$. A new one costs $80, so fix or burial??

Notice the shiny, new looking glass carafe? It’s new looking because it is new! I got this replacement carafe just a week ago because I had, in yet another  distracted state  one of those moments, turned on the wrong heating element on my stove and melted the carafe which was sitting on it. I don’t even usually leave the carafe on the element but just that day, I thought I’ll leave it there instead of putting it back on the coffee maker warming tray. And that day was the day I put on a pot of water to boil for pasta but turned on the wrong heat. 😦 There was a fire even and the good thing that came out of it was we know our smoke detector works.

In the meantime, there will be no coffee until my Bodum french press new parts arrive in the mail. Yes, I have a spare coffee maker. which I remembered after the carafe accident, but the parts have rusted so I have to replace them. By the way, if you own a Bodum french press and if the long plastic nut part which holds the 3 pieces together on the shaft (they call it a shoulder nut) needs replacing, email them and they’ll send you one free. The new ones are made of metal. I’m still waiting for mine but it’s in the mail.

This morning I decided to give myself some therapy so I bake a Devil’s Food Cake from Anna Olson’s new ‘Bake with Anna Olson‘ show and also write a blog post. Now that this is done, I have to go and face my kitchen…. And I hope I won’t have any more of these ‘OOPS!’ stories to tell!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Life

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “R.I.P. Coffee Maker

  1. Mary

    April 24, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Oh no, that sounds like the kind of day I often have! I just put my coffeemaker away because I got a new Aeropress, but I also have a stovetop espresso pot, a pour-over cone filter and a Vietnamese filter coffee maker. Hmm, maybe I am more addicted to coffee than I thought? Hope your bodum parts arrive very soon!

     
  2. Giddy Tigress (@giddytigress)

    April 24, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Awww…*hugs* – we all have “one of those moments”. By the way, I love your white Kitchen Aid mixer! *drool*

     
    • Life is Full

      April 24, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Thanks for the hug. 🙂 My KitchenAid’s pink, you’ll love it too!

       
  3. kitchen flavours

    April 25, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Hi KY, Sorry to hear about your kitchen mishaps! What a day! Nothing beats a slice of delicious homemade chocolate cake to boost you up! Pink KA? Cool!

     
  4. Stace

    May 31, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Love your kitchen! Where all the magic happens 😀

     
  5. Mary

    June 28, 2012 at 8:54 am

    Hi! I guess you are still taking a break, but I bet you have a new coffee maker by now! I grate coconut on a hand grinder I bought at a Sri Lankan store. You clamp it to the table, then split your coconut in half and grate it right out of the shell by turning the crank. You end up with tiny shreds.

     
  6. yummychunklet

    January 27, 2015 at 6:45 am

    Aw! Later, coffee maker!

     

Leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!